We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could eat here twice a week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jade Teahouse and Patisserie

Jade Teahouse and Patisserie
7912 S.E. 13th Ave., Portland, OR
503-477-8985
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #199 of 3,541 restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: French, Hamburgers, Vietnamese
Description: www.jadeteahouse.com
Restaurant details
Description: www.jadeteahouse.com
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“I could eat here twice a week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've been going here for years and still, there are days when I simply can't stop thinking about the food at Jade. The crispy springrolls, the vermicelli salad, the coconut soup brimming with chicken, noddles & veggies. Even the poached chicken, which might sound bland, is delicious in its savory broth. If you're daunted by the large tea selection, ask for advice from the cashier. If you don't have room for dessert, do yourself a favor and get something to go. if you can't decide which dessert, get several!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    18
    14
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Why have we not tried this place before?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Jade Bistro Teahouse is a real gem (pun intended). This place really rocks.

Hidden in the Moreland neighborhood of SE Portland, Jade is not a place that I would normally think of going. A very good friend lives in the neighborhood and recommended we try it out. Oh my gosh - we have been missing out.

The walk-up, order at the counter style should not deceive the foodies out there - this is no "lunch counter" place. It is a wonderful pan-Asian mix of flavors and dishes with a true emphasis on quality. We had a delightful meal that included green papaya salad, sautéed green beans and a fantastic rice noodle and broccoli main course. It was a great mix of the savory and the sweet.

The location is a bit of the beaten track, but the food selections and the attentive service (the owner is delightful) make it worth the drive (for those of use that live in the downtown area). Give this place a try - it is well worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I ate here with a friend and was really pleased with the food. I had the coconut rice noodle soup. It was full of chicken and the taste was just a delicious blend of coconut, lemongrass, and hot pepper. We also shared the truffle fries and they were very good. I agree with the other reviewers that this place is so busy the service suffers a little. The table don't get cleaned and the staff seems hurried. But the menu is really varied, prices cheap, and the food is great, so I recommend it highly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very fresh Asian theme food and wonderful baked goods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I are there almost every week. SE Asian inspired food that is very fresh and they also have wonderful baked goods. Sesame balls with honey and the macaroons are must haves for dessert.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Little gem surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

On the recommendation of a friend, I went there for lunch. I love the signage outside the shop, made it feel very personable and somehow that told me that the food will be good in there. Not always right, but was this time. Nice and clean place. You order and pay, find a table and they'll bring the food out to you. We had the garlic shrimp, chicken in coconut milk curry ( YUM! ) and I don't know what the dessert is called, but it's deep-fried and round with sesame seeds ~ not to be missed! Be prepared to wait.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Teahouse and Patisserie also viewed

 

Been to Jade Teahouse and Patisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jade Teahouse and Patisserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.