We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forktown Food Tours

Forktown Food Tours
4110 SE Hawthorne Blvd #402, Portland, OR
+1 503-234-3663
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$75*
and up
Ranked #2 of 190 Activities in Portland
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us on our guided, culinary walking tours and taste your way through some of Portland's most delicious neighborhoods from fine dining to food carts. Friendly guides make it fun, sharing stories of local culture and history, while you sample some of the best food in town. On all of our tours, we make 6-7 stops featuring casual eateries, higher end restaurants, a food cart, an educational stop, and a dessert location that reflect the way we eat in Portland. On tour, you may sample local craft beer, seasonal small plates, cocktails, tiny artisan cookies, micro-batch coffee, food cart goodness, and more, made with the ingredients & creativity that Oregon is famous for. You'll get the stories behind the tastes with your expert culinary guide. We offer tours in three of the city's greatest neighborhoods! Alphabet District Tour: Friday afternoons. Mississippi Ave Tour: Saturday & Sunday afternoons. Downtown & The Pearl District Tour, Thursday and Saturday afternoons. Our tour schedule varies seasonally, so please check our website for more details and to buy tickets!
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Do it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This tour really had something for everyone. Our group had 6 adults in our late 20's- early 30's and a 7 month old baby. We had such a great time on the Mississippi Ave tour! It was the perfect amount of time and the perfect variety of food (not all the same style or predictable). We all had a different "highlight" moment. The tour guide was fun, knowledgeable, polite, and a multigenerational Portlandian! I would very very highly recommend this tour! Do it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We appreciate so much that you took a moment to share your thoughts with us and the TripAdvisor community on your tour with Forktown. We love hosting groups, they are always so much fun :) We are thrilled you all had such a good time, enjoyed the varied food offerings and that you each took away a personal favorite moment from your time with us. We couldn't be happier than when our guests are! Come see us again soon the next time your travels bring you to our lovely city!

Best,
Heidi & Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great afternoon with Kelsey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Kelsey was a great guide. She balanced fun info (her roots in Oregon, food and neighborhood history) with serious stuff (Vanport flood, urban growth boundary). Great food and drink stops on Mississippi. Vegetarian options available at every stop. We live in Portland and would happily take another Forktown Food Tour to learn more about our city.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks so much for reviewing your N Mississippi Avenue tour with us! We are so glad you enjoyed Kelsey's commentary and great point of view and that we could show you around one of our most favorite neighborhoods in town. We are always pleased to accommodate dietary restrictions/allergies and appreciate that you mention your vegetarian request was honored during your time with us. We look forward to hosting you on another tour in the very near future.

Best,
Jessica & Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely beyond my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

It took some foodie friends visiting from out town to help me discover Forktown Food Tours. They had done one in Seattle and loved it so knowing they were coming to Portland, they booked the Mississippi Ave Tour. I bought tickets for my husband and myself to join them and we are so glad we did! Our tour guide, Kelsey, was a treat in and of herself, sharing more background information about the area, the restaurants, the food, the drinks and the history than I had ever expected to know. What fun! We made 7 great food stops, were served full sized portions of food from Thai, to burgers, to cocktails, tacos, small plates, chocolate and ice cream sandwiches. It was a 3 hour tour, we were full in the end and a bit tired but we can't wait to try one of their other area tours. Maybe, the Pearl tour is next.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience with us. There is nothing we love more than taking a local on tour for the first time and sharing our stories about each neighborhood and introducing them to lots of great food and drink at places they might never have visited before! There is something so fun about being a traveler in your own city, and Portland is the right place to do it. There are so many great neighborhoods and hidden gems, it takes years to discover them all! We couldn't be more pleased that the tour went above and beyond your expectations and we look forward to sharing our delicious take on our Downtown & The Pearl District with you soon.

Best,
Heidi & Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Pearl...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Wonderful tour with Kelsey through the Pearl district. The food was great, company fun, and the weather agreeable. My favorite stops was the Georgian Food cart, the country not the state, and despite Joseph Stalin being from Georgia it was a taste treat. The last stop was at Blue Star Donuts. Usually I find donuts too sugary and heavy. These were wonderful-so good I didn't feel like a sinner eating them. No wonder the place sells out. Kelsey was a great guide being very knowledgeable and funny.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your tour with us and sharing your thoughts and your favorite stops! We love Kargi Gogo (that's the Georgian food cart) and Blue Star as well. We like to challenge everyone to compare a Blue Star donuts to other, possibly more well known donuts in town...it's quite the revelation! We are glad Kelsey made such a great impression, we think she's pretty great too. Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again soon on another delicious Forktown Food Tour!

Best,
Jessica & Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Great Food Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had heard about Forktown tours from a colleague at work and after speaking with my wife we decided to try it. We started the tour at the Nines Hotel with Kelsey, who was professional, knowledgeable, and funny. The tour group was small (only 12 people), which allowed us to talk to Kelsey one-on-one and get our questions answered. I particularly liked how Kelsey intertwined the history of the areas we visited with the current eateries. The tour was well organized--I agree with a previous posting that "all of the restaurants we visited were well organized and expecting us; food was ready to go by the time we got there, and it was delicious!" There was a variety of food items throughout the tour and in portions that left you satisfied but not overstuffed. My wife and I highly recommend this tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write about your experience with Forktown Food Tours. We are so glad that you enjoyed your Downtown & The Pearl District tour, from the guide, to the food, to our vendors, all the kudos are much appreciated. Thank you for the recommendation and we do look forward to hosting you again sometime soon the next time you come to Portland.

Best,
Heidi & Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forktown Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forktown Food Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.