We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but very pricey.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Forktown Food Tours

Forktown Food Tours
4110 SE Hawthorne Blvd #402, Portland, OR
+1 503-234-3663
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$75*
and up
Ranked #2 of 189 Activities in Portland
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us on our guided, culinary walking tours and taste your way through some of Portland's most delicious neighborhoods from fine dining to food carts. Friendly guides make it fun, sharing stories of local culture and history, while you sample some of the best food in town. On all of our tours, we make 6-7 stops featuring casual eateries, higher end restaurants, a food cart, an educational stop, and a dessert location that reflect the way we eat in Portland. On tour, you may sample local craft beer, seasonal small plates, cocktails, tiny artisan cookies, micro-batch coffee, food cart goodness, and more, made with the ingredients & creativity that Oregon is famous for. You'll get the stories behind the tastes with your expert culinary guide. We offer tours in three of the city's greatest neighborhoods! Alphabet District Tour: Friday afternoons. Mississippi Ave Tour: Saturday & Sunday afternoons. Downtown & The Pearl District Tour, Thursday and Saturday afternoons. Our tour schedule varies seasonally, so please check our website for more details and to buy tickets!
Honolulu, HI
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun but very pricey.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We went on this tour because it was so highly rated. The cost had just gone up to $75, and they encourage 15 to 20% tip, so it cost us $180. In my opinion it is way overpriced.

Just go to the area and try a few places and it will cost you 1/2 or 1/3rd of the price. You do get a little history about the area, and some good food. They said come hungry, but you are not fed very much by any means. Had a nice salad and a champagne cocktail at Besaws, and the next day went there for an enjoyable meal.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience with us. We are glad you had fun on tour as you stated in your review and that you enjoyed one of our restaurants so much you returned for an enjoyable meal the following day. We aim to deliver a unique culinary experience with great food and drink paired with a local's perspective about the history and culture of that particular neighborhood. Most guests are quite full at the end of all of our tours and value their time with us not just for the ample food and drink but also the experience of exploring with us. Of course, anyone can recreate any sort of tour with a map in hand and a list of places to visit, but you miss the local guide's perspective as well as the opportunity to sit back, relax and let someone else manage the details for you. We offer hearty apologies that this experience didn't meet your expectations overall in terms of value, but are quite glad you did have fun and liked one of the restaurants enough to return. We'd love the opportunity to take you on another tour with us, so if your travel plans ever call for Portland again, please do look us up.

Best,
Heidi & Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Alphabet District Tour Was A-B-C-Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I went on the Alphabet District tour for our vacation to Portland. In short: everyone should go on this tour.

Not only were our tour guides knowledgeable about the foods and drinks in question, they had great stories about the neighbourhood's past and present. The selection was as diverse as it was delicious, from pastrami and rye sandwiches to asparagus pizza to arguably the best PB&J on the planet. (I was teased on that last item with a promise that my mind would be blown. I was not disappointed.)

One of the standout stops was at Bull Run Distillery, where we received not just a sample of local drinks but an in-depth presentation on the science behind the distilling process. (As a nerd, I love hearing about the nuts and bolts behind the scenes -- your tolerance may vary.)

A+ tour, would definitely go again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, and do agree: everyone should go on this tour (although we might be a bit biased)! We are also glad that there were so many stand out items on your tour and that we managed to actually blow your mind--those PBJ sandwiches are quite the delicious, unexpected taste! We hope the next time your travels from fair Canada include Portland, we can host you on another one of our tours. We will try equally hard to blow your mind again!

Thanks!
Heidi & Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Expected "Good" Got "Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We did the North Mississippi tour this afternoon..This tour introduced us to some exceptional food and beverage venues while being led on an easy walk this sunny Spring afternoon by a knowledgeable and energized tour guide. We are anxious to go back and enjoy the places introduced and also look forward to taking the other food tours Forktown offers. I highly recommended Forktown tours for locals and out of town visitors. Gift certificates are available and would be appreciated by any lucky recipient.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your tour with us this past weekend on N Mississippi Avenue, and quite quickly we might add! We are glad we exceeded your expectations...that is always our goal with our guests, with both visitors and locals. We do hope you can come visit us again soon and explore another great area of the Rose City. Thanks so much and see you soon!

Best,
Jessica & Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food tour, friendly guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Jessica did a wonderful job of making everyone feel comfortable. She was knowledgeable, personable, and service oriented. We did the Downtown/Pearl District tour with seven stops. The food had variety, fun, and great tastes. It included a "white tablecloth" restaurant, a food cart, bagels, pizza, sandwiches, a farm to fork grocery store, and great desserts. It was well done and a good value. Recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review a brand new addition to our tour roster: Downtown & The Pearl District tour! We love this tour and are so glad that you did too. It's always a compliment to hear that our guests think our tour was a great value and that the tastes and stops hit the spot . Come back and see us again...we cover some really terrific neighborhoods and would love to host you again.

Best,
Heidi & Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samish Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and filling day with Forktown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband booked this tour as a birthday gift and it was such a blast. Heidi went above and beyond to make my day perfect. You know you are in good hands when your guide admits that she often thinks about where she's going for dinner while she's still eating lunch. Come here on an empty stomach because the tour covers many places and the food is so incredible you will want to finish it all. In addition to our tour, Heidi gave us a few more suggestions of places to go when we told her which part of town we were staying. Thanks to Forktown, we discovered a part of Portland we would have never found on our own and learned much of it's history as well. If you are only here for a day, I say make this tour your priority. Thank you, Heidi!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of your time with us. We are so very glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and it was certainly our pleasure to make your birthday gift very special. We love birthdays at Forktown! We hope you get a chance to visit again soon, we would love to host you on another one of our neighborhood tours. Maybe it could be a new yearly birthday tradition? Ask for Heidi & I will do my best to lead your next tour :)

Best,
Heidi & Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forktown Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forktown Food Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.