We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FREQUENT TRAVELERS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aladdin Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aladdin Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Aladdin Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8905 SW 30th Avenue, Portland, OR 97219   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FREQUENT TRAVELERS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We've been coming to Aladdin for the last 3 years and have watched this hotel continually improve, even through the reconstruction. While the accommodations are plain and simple, they are very functional, clean and comfortable and the staff has always been helpful and friendly. It definitely has one of the better continental breakfasts being offered to guests. The location in relation to the VA Hospital makes it an ideal overnight stay. We have, in the past, recommended it to other veterans and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AladdinInnandSuites, Manager at Aladdin Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We always enjoy getting feedback from repeat guests and are glad to hear that our staff, improvements, location, and breakfast are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    14
    5
    9
See reviews for
19
7
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquille, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My daughter and I had booked a room online for 3 nights as my younger daughter was to have surgery at OHSU Monday August 6, 2012. It was confirmed by email. When we arrived after 2 p,m,, we were asked to wait awhile as the rooms were being cleaned. When we came back a very rude young lady said we have no room for you. but if you want to wait around someone may cancel. We were tired after traveling all morning and just wanted to rest before going to the hospital. By the way the money wasn't refunded. We were sent to the Hospitality Inn and no charge there. We have nothing good to say about Aladdin Inn and the young lady at the desk on the afternoon of August 5, 2012. M.Hartley and S. Price

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AladdinInnandSuites, Manager at Aladdin Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We deeply regret that this situation occurred and would like to assure you that it was an extremely atypical occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUTHERLIN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Accommodations are excellent and very adequate for a standard room with no frills especially for anyone with a physical disability. My husband Roy is a WW II DISABLED VETERAN with difficulty in mobility and maintaining balance in a slippery shower/bathtub with his disabled knee. However, the shower in our room not only had a wall handle bars on each side of the shower but had a handle bar on the back wall making this an excellent, safe "spa". The large shower head had excellent pressure and hot water to bath a crew. The motel is easy to locate,
near the VA hospital and many excellent well known and good grade restaurants nearby. This is a well managed motel with a friendly and helpful staff. Also, don't pass-up the enjoyable snack continental breakfast. We shall return. Patricia Mondike

Room Tip: The rooms facing the front are more accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AladdinInnandSuites, Manager at Aladdin Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We are happy to hear that our room provided the accommodations you needed and hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have stayed at the Aladdin off-and-on for 15 years. I have always found the staff to be accommodating and friendly. Reading the recent reviews I have to say these people have unbelievable expectations for a motel. "Graphic Porn"?! Perhaps you have never seen HBO before? The wifi only works if you get the password, so ask the front desk for it. They have upgraded a lot of the exterior and interior of this place, but it takes time and investment to change furniture, beddings, etc., and it is very much an improvement over what was there before. Their rates haven't gone up that much in two decades, and It is one of the cleaner motels I have stayed at. if you have an issue or problem the staff is more than ready to fix it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AladdinInnandSuites, Manager at Aladdin Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We greatly value your positive comments and we look forward to seeing you when you are next in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

First of all, this is a MOTEL, NOT a hotel. Second, the rooms were disgusting. Brown stains on the wall, fridge, and microwave. The bathrooms were so gross that I actually used shower shoes. And to top all of this off, the manager was SO RUDE to my family and me. I will NEVER stay at this place again nor do I recommend anyone else. The only reason I'm giving the service a point is because the front desk ladies were very nice and pleasant to deal with. I still cannot believe the atitude my family and I received from the manager....completely and utterly unprofessional. Someone like that should NOT be running a business.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AladdinInnandSuites, Manager at Aladdin Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your time at our hotel and would like to reassure you that all feedback is taken seriously and that steps have been taken to address the issues you brought up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuna, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We wound up with an accessible room so it was very large. My son had a standard room which was the usual size. This is a bare bones motel. It was clean and in relatively good repair. Lots of stairs so if that is a problem for you make sure you request a no stairs room when you make your reservations. the woman who checked me in was really nice. The other staff was okay; nothing negative nor positive. If you are looking for an inexpensive motel this is a good place. It is off Barbor Blvd. near the Menatonoma (sp?) Village. It is a straight route to Tigard and King City and two minutes from the I5 which will take you just about anyplace in Portland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AladdinInnandSuites, Manager at Aladdin Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I was so disappointed with this "hotel". I guess I should have checked out more reviews because after staying there I realized that all of the issues I had with the hotel, other reviewers had already warned about. This hotel has recently made some upgrades to the outside of the building and the website that portray it as a modern, clean hotel with free wifi. From the look of the pictures I decided it would be worth paying more than say I would have at Motel 6 for something a little nicer and more comfortable. Big Mistake! Our room was a double queen kitchen suite. The furniture, appliances, and curtains inside were not upgraded at all, but worn out and broken. There were holes in the bedding, no night stand between the two beds, no alarm clock, the stand up lamp between the two bed was broken, the telephone was broken, the remote control wasn't working, shower drain was broken so could not use bath tub, and there was no toiletries in the bathroom, just a sign saying to ask for some if you forgot your own at the front desk... and the clincher... no wifi! I really needed to get some work done that night and the free wifi was a big reason that we chose this hotel. I called the front desk to alert them to the issues in the room, but since I was with my husband and daughter and it was past 10:00 and we were leaving the next day, we decided to just stay the night. Another thing, they advertise HBO but when we flicked through the channels, we did not find any movies, but full on graphic porn that my daughter got a full look at! I was outraged! I spoke with the front desk person about these issues in the morning, but was offered no refund, discount, or apology really. Don't waste your money here! Go to Motel 6 or splurge on something else!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Aladdin Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We have updated almost all of our rooms and you were unfortunately placed in one of the few that has not been completed, due to the room availability at the time of your check in. We regret that we were not given the opportunity to address the issues that you brought up in your review during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aladdin Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aladdin Inn and Suites

Address: 8905 SW 30th Avenue, Portland, OR 97219
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aladdin Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Southwest Portland. The Aladdin Inn is 5 minutes to downtown, OHSU, and Portland State University. Nearby attractions include Oregon Zoo, Japanese Gardens, and Hoyt Arboretum that are 5 miles away. Other attractions that are 6 miles away include Portland Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena, and Memorial Coliseum. All rooms feature free wireless internet access. This property caters to families and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aladdin Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aladdin Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.