We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value and quality of service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Viking Motel
Save
You added Viking Motel to your Saves list
6701 N Interstate Ave, Portland, OR 97217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Amazing value and quality of service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A large group of friends rented out many rooms at this motel in August for a wedding we were all attending. The owner, his family, and the motel were great!
We didn't want to spend a lot of money on weekend accommodation and so the value attracted us. But I think we were all surprised by the overall quality of service at the motel. The owner and his family made sure to attend to any needs in the room (ours was missing a shower curtain) and did so in a timely way. The rooms were very clean (throughout our stay) but basic. If you want fancy with extras then you shouldn't stay in a motel. If you are looking for a basic room, for a short stay (with or without a family) with good customer service, pick the Viking. We will be coming back for future visits to the city.
We only wish that they would bring the pool back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
7
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Weed, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

On a tip from a friend, we read reviews, and decided to book a room for two nights. Had we not received the tip, we likely would not have discovered this gem. Ordinarily we would have defaulted to known 'budget' brands, that are still higher in price than The Viking Motel. The bottom line for us is that it met our priority criteria: secure, and very clean. The fridge and microwave were handy as well.

Yes, it's dated, and we're fine with that. We value relationships and small family businesses over sterile, corporate settings.

Other bonuses include the MAX light rail that is right in front of the motel (going north), or just past the light (going south), that took us into the Pearl District for $2.50 each person/each way, the Arbor Lodge Coffee & Community Space just around the corner, and New Seasons grocery (similar to Whole Foods), which rocked our culinary taste buds. Also, it is incredibly close to Interstate 5 - so convenient!

Room Tip: Some have noted the street-side rooms are noisy - I would tend to agree. We stayed in room 211, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

People looking into this property need to see some reviews with more balance; yes this place has its pluses, but also very strong minuses - too many for me personally.

I was looking for a one-night thrifty bargain in Portland near I-5, and decided to risk this place based on the surprisingly low price and suspiciously glowing reviews. I didn't like it and I won't be back; nothing dire happened, its just very bare-bones and too worn-out and shabby.  

Like most large cities these days, its flatly impossible to find a decent hotel room in Portland near I-5 with a rack-rate under $100.  Nice mid-range places that I used to stay in a few years back on business for maybe $65 are now $110.  And why not, since all the hotels in entire greater Portland metro area often book completely solid on summer weekends; I've seen this happen frequently over the years. 

So consider that instead of something like $110 you are paying perhaps $54 here, and you are definitely getting half the room-quality for half the price.  My experience was somewhere between checking into the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel but without any charm, or perhaps, say, staying in a friend's grandmother's old home, where 40+ years ago they added a spartan bedroom and bath to the basement, furnished it from Goodwill, and haven't changed it since. Its extremely dated and in dire need of major renovation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our visit with our son's family in North Portland was indeed an easy and pleasant one thanks to the folks at the Viking Motel. We arrived very late and by email arrangement found our key under the doormat of our room. The room with bath was spartan (AC, WiFi, TV with On Demand, fridge and coffee maker included) but expertly made up each day with freshly ground coffee for our pot. Located next to both the 405 and the MAX station, the motel provides easy access to downtown area by car and public transport and appeared to be popular with bikers and campers touring Oregon. An excellent diner, organic supermarket and large Fred Meyer are within easy walking distance. For the budget conscious looking for a convenient stopover, the Viking and its helpful owner can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Viking is a good bargain if you're not looking for style or to be near downtown/Pearl District (although you can access both easily on the Max outside the door or by car on the 405). Our room was basic but clean, the beds were reasonably comfortable. The water never seemed to get really hot in the bathroom, however. We appreciated the large organic market and the Lodge coffee shop near by--the Viking is also a block from diner, although we didn't try it. The owners are kindly and accommodating. We would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room along the front on Interstate Ave, but cranking up the AC kept the noise down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Killer deal. Stopped in on a bike tour down Washington and Oregon. Nearly 100 degrees in Portland the day I checked in, they had the AC already on for me. Couldn't be nicer people. The motel is a great deal for the price, neighborhood isn't bad, and close to downtown on the train. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seatttle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The owner is wonderful, the rates are extremely reasonable. It's clean, and close to the MAX station and grocery. But if you get a room in the front, along the main street, be prepared for loud traffic noise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viking Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Motel

Address: 6701 N Interstate Ave, Portland, OR 97217
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viking Motel offers comfortable, clean, and quiet rooms at affordable prices. Family owned and operated for over 50 years, we believe that building relationships with our neighbors, employees, and ultimately you, our customer, has led to this success. We hope you stay with us and enjoy what Portland and we have to offer! Situated on the Max Yellow Line, our motel is minutes away from downtown Portland, Swan Island, the Expo Center, the Rose Quarter and Convention Center, the Portland Airport, and all Portland universities. Our amenities include complimentary Wi-Fi, refrigerators and microwaves, kitchenettes, non-smoking rooms, a relaxing patio, and more! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.