We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabezon Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabezon Restaurant

Cabezon Restaurant
5200 NE Sacramento, Portland, OR 97213
(503) 284-6617
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cabezon Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: NE Sandy Blvd.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cabezon Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Cioppino with white gulf shrimp, local fsh, Dungeness crab, clams, mussels and calamari was very spicy, not a traditional Cioppino. The Manila Clams with Borlotti beans, Spanish chorizo, fries and rouille was outstanding- a great blend of flavors. NIce wine list.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    32
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Dalles, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Super Seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Cabezon was such a treat! From cocktails to starters to main courses to desserts, you just can't go wrong. The service is stellar, the atmosphere is modern and warm. I wish I were nibbling on the Chive Blinis with Trout Caviar and Creme Fraiche as I write this. They were so fantastic! Warm little thin chive pancakes topped with creme fraiche and caviar, each little egg bursting in your mouth with utmost deliciousness. The Cioppino was chock full of seafood and the broth had just a hint of spiciness that made the dish just dance around your taste buds. Their salted caramel ice cream was very nice as well and was a great ending to a great meal It's a small place, but the food is big in flavor!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We Scored!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This restaurant, by far has a great menu and the menu changes every day. We had the Cioppino and it had to be one of the best dishes we've ever had. My wife ordered a roasted goat cheese salad that I had a few bites of and I ended up ordering that too. We splurged on the Lavender and Honey Creme Brûlée for desert and it was a five star desert as well. Our server was professional yet fun to talk to. This is a special place and if you know seafood, you will know that this is how it's done. Fresh and healthy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Never lets you down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Cabezon is one of those places you enter only once and immediately feel at home. The food is a constant mix of the freshest and interesting ingredients that make the dining experience a real food event. We have entertained many out of town guests at Cabazon knowing they would find a memorable experience in Portland cuisine. The fish served is always fresh and served just minutes after you place your order. Last Saturday night I had my personal favorite bowl of plump mussels in a steamy spicy broth even tho it was about 100+ degrees outside!! We also had the good fortune to experience their appetizer of Fried and Goat Cheese stuffed Zucchini blossoms..best run to catch that short seasonal delight!
We finished with what I consider the signature dessert .. Pot de Creme. This smooth and creamy but firm dark chocolate creation is like having a chocolate truffle with each spoonful...bet you can't have just one bite!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outside seating - great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We arrived on a busy Friday night without a reservation. We had a choice of sitting at the bar or outside. We chose a table outside and it was delightful. Attentive service and excellent food. The menu changes daily. The chowder was spicy and full of clams and perfectly cooked vegetables. The salad was perfect with warm melted goat cheese. The cioppino was full of a large variety of sea food and a wonderful light and spicy broth. For dessert the local blueberry cobbler was the perfect end to the meal. We will be back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabezon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cabezon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabezon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.