We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabezon Restaurant

Cabezon Restaurant
5200 NE Sacramento, Portland, OR 97213
(503) 284-6617
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cabezon Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: NE Sandy Blvd.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A nice find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Very, very good food and excellent service. For a family get-together we made a meal of a variety of appetizers, all of which were served in decent portions (not the one or two bites some places give you). Several of us agreed that the mussels were the tenderest and tastiest we'd ever eaten.

Extensive list of good to great Oregon and Washington wines, but we would have been happy with a lower priced house wine of slightly lower quality.

It's a smallish restaurant with decent ambience, family friendly yet also suitable for a romantic couples dinner. The type of place that makes Portland famous for its number and quality of dining options.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    30
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best mussels-ANYWHERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I LOVE THIS RESTARUANT! I love mussels. I thought the best I have ever had was in Belgium but I was wrong. These are the best....BEST! I tasted my friend's order of monkfish...AMAZING. We went there for dinner on the recommendation of the best cioppino in Portland. One of us ordered it and it was indeed, fantastic....but the mussels...OMG. They are served like in Brussels, with French fries but so much better. The fries are wonderful, the broth has chorizo and beans so don't waste it. For dessert we got three different ones and all were wonderful but the house made Makers Mark ice cream with the profitorole was beyond description. WOW!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent food, superb service and intimate, warm atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The food at Cabezon is consistently excellent thanks to David and his great team. Try the blinis that are topped with creme fraiche, tiny chives,& fresh seasonal fish (my fav is the trout roe); the basil wrapped shrimp, and be sure to order what is special that day- you can't miss. For dessert: I'm not a chocolate fan, but we get the chocolate pot de creme every time and devour it. Not too sweet, but creamy and decadent with a bit of fresh whipped cream. Perfect balance. The honey lavender creme broulee is fabulous too.

The service is outstanding. Jackie has put together a thoughtful wine list that and has great recommendations that are spot on every time. Aric is an incredible server with vast knowledge of the food, who willingly shares what you need to know or might be curious about. Dana and Jill are tops. Their service is impeccable. There when you need them, welcoming, warm, and contributing to a great dining experience.

The space is intimate, sexy, warm and inviting. Jackie's cool art graces the walls, the tables are close but not too close to one another, even the bathroom has some really nice touches- like the salmon sink. I wouldn't hesitate to, and do bring clients, family, and friends to dinner here. Cabezon is a restaurant that Portland has been waiting for!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent creative food, a not so hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Now that the New York Times has found Cabezon it probably will no longer be a hidden gem. Cabezon and chef David are a great addition to Portland's exciting dining experiences. We love that it is in a northeast neighborhood. Very good wine selection also. We just moved here from Boston and were looking for very good seafood and we have found it!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Fish in Hollywood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Visited Cabezon with my husband on a whim. Heard good things about it. What a surprise. Exquisite seafood dinner in a warm and intimate setting. Service was excellent. Our favorite was a filo wrapped prawn. Heaven. We've recommended this restaurant to many friends. And it's a fish market during the day. Perfect.

  • Visited September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabezon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cabezon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabezon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.