We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santeria

Santeria
703 sw ankeny, Portland, OR (Downtown)
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #345 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Great Falls, Montana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I'm a firm believer that if you are trying to find a specific place in Portland to eat (Other then voodoo doughnuts) You won't. You will spend hours drifting about looking for it and then when you feel like you can take no more, you will accidentally stumble upon a place like Santeria. And that is exactly how we found it!

Excellent food served in a very timely fashion and did I mention it was excellent food? The place was unique as were it's patrons and if I can find it again, I will go back yum!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    29
    0
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stumbled upon this small restaurant our first time in Portland and had to go back the next night as it was so good.
The room is tiny and full of character, the service friendly and efficient and the food was simple rustic and tasted great. Drinks were different from your usual Mexican restaurant and a great value.
We returned to Portland eleven weeks later and had to try it again. Same as last two times, just great food, and service in an interesting environment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Welcome to Portland...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

After checking in at our hotel, we immediately jumped in the car to head into downtown Portland. We were starving, and couldn't find the pizza place we were originally searching for, and I'm glad we didn't! We ended up stumbling into Santeria, and were immediately seated. TINY place, but a good atmosphere. Our server (server/bartender/greeter/seater/table-clearer, etc!) was amazing. Friendly, knowledgeable, and QUICK! I don't think this dude ever stopped moving the entire time we were there. He works hard!

We ordered the chile rellano, and I was not disappointed. Cinnamon in the sauce? Never had it, but I really enjoyed it. We were in and out pretty quickly and it was the best way to kick off our vacation to Portland. Thank you!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Little Voodoo, A Little Skin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Although a little cramped and off the beaten path, some great Mexican-ish food served up by people who seem to make the connection between happy customers and staying in business. Some seriously large and tasty burritos going on here. A note to the squeamish: they share a restroom with an adjoining strip club (but I closed my eyes).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fun "Hole-in-the-Wall-Experience" w/ Great Libations & Mexican Grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a late lunch and had some amazing pork dishes ("Pigs Can Fly"?) and cucumber drinks that our totally-fun server recommended!

Although the guys in our group seemed to have to go to the men's room an extraordinarily high number of times ;) it was a very fun Portlandia experience with good food, drinks and " stories" as a result!

Highly recommend but not for families or the uptight.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santeria also viewed

 

Been to Santeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.