We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Love Cheese You'll Love This Place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grilled Cheese Grill

The Grilled Cheese Grill
1027 NE Alberta St, Portland, OR 97211-4533
503-206-8959
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Hamburgers
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“If You Love Cheese You'll Love This Place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was visiting Portland and stumbled across information about all of the food trucks in Portland, there are between 500-600! This place was listed as one you've got to check out so I did and boy was I glad I took the time to find it! I had the Sour Apple (with bacon) and a cup of the Tomato Soup. They were both EXCELLENT and the chips you got on the side were TO DIE FOR!!

If you like cheese you can't go wrong here!! Everyone is SUPER FRIENDLY too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    30
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“best grilled cheese!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

decided to stop by this food truck for lunch and am SO glad i did! i ordered the grilled cheese with tillamook pepperjack, avocado, red onions and roasted red peppers. also, had a cup of tomato soup on the side. i would definitely return and recommend this place. there is outdoor seating on picnic benches and also a huge school bus transformed into a dining room. super cool :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Grill Cheese Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Love, Love,Love this food truck. The sandwiches are made to order and Oh la la it is the best. I was only in Portland 3 days and I had 3 meals at Grill Cheese Grill and at 2 different locations. They have 3 locations so they are available in a lot of Portland neighborhoods.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The best grilled cheese I have ever had! Visiting from Va and have never had better. The bread and cheese was so good. A must go in Portland !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pure Comfort Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went to the one at 10th and Alder and was surprised to find so many food trucks in one place, a bonus since 2 others in our group didn't want grilled cheese. I had the First Grader and a cup of tomato soup and both were delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grilled Cheese Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Grilled Cheese Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grilled Cheese Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.