We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home southern cooking, no frills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Po' Shines

Po' Shines
8139 n denver, Portland, OR 97217
503-978-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #210 of 3,617 Restaurants in Portland
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Tualatin, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Home southern cooking, no frills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Totally enjoyed dinner here last night--second Southern-style restaurant I've tried in Portland. This was a hidden gem, in newly refurbished Denver Ave area of N. Portland. I had the blackened catfish basket, fish very light and fresh tasting, not overly blackened. Tasty hush puppies, not overly greasy or too hard to enjoy. Also opted for the "Trinity Greens" = collard,
mustard and turnip with smoked turkey. They do not serve alcohol, but on a hot Portland night what really hit the spot was Sorrel, their signature “purple drink” made w/ hybiscus
flowers, green tea and fresh citrus juices. This restaurant attracts families and couples, and seemed reasonably prices.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Oregon
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Best Cajun-Creole Food north and west of the Mason Dixon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I was pleasantly surprised when I went to this quiet neighborhood, Kenton District, and found this jewel. I went because of Restaurant.com, I returned the next day and had a business lunch because of the fantastic service and amazing food.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Hushpuppies and Okra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Was visiting a friend in Portland over the weekend and we decided to go get some Southern food,
This place doesn't look like much from the outside, but once you enter it has a lively atmosphere.
The hushpuppies are excellent, the fried okra was the best I have ever had, it was crisp not mushy and greasy.
I also ordered the brisket, it was very good as well. The sauce they had it smothered in was pretty good as well. Great place to stop by for lunch if you're in the area!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“hushpuppie heaven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Historic Kenton is very lucky to have this little slice of heaven!...Catfish is fantastic, no matter which way you get it-i've had both blackened and deepfried (deepfried that i did get served by accident when i ask for blackend-but it was deep fry worthy! not greasy at all) and those hushpuppies...
everything is good, but don't be in a hurry! just wish they were open an Sunday morning for brunch. i have not had an opportunity for the Beignets yet, next on my list.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Unless you like Southern Cuisine . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

There are a number of people in the world who fall all over themselves for "authentic" southern cooking - and the ingredients that go into it. I am not one of them. But I have driven by this restaurant for a long time and finally decided to give it a try with a small group.

The menu is a challenge unless you really know what southern cooking thing you want. It is difficult to get just a simple breakfast without adding all the grits and other "southern" things that some taste buds require. I did manage to get an omlette put together without too much unusual stuff in it.

Some of the wait staff here is enjoying there first job for some period of time. This is a church owned (next door) commercial enterprise that populates the wait staff from folks needing to restart their lives. They are not polished professionals by any means and revert to overly friendly kinds of behavior to cover for that.

Back where the cooking is done, there is a boom box that is cranked up way too loudly so talking at the table, even at the other side of the room is competing with the noise. Standing next to it to pay the bill at the cash register you almost had to raise you voice to be heard.

The floors are concrete, the wall as hard surface as well so you are dining in a echo can, and when folks at adjacent tables are speaking loudly to overcome the music, it can be next to impossible to have your own table conversation.

For our meal we had to ask for butter (for toast), jelly, ketchup and refills on coffee, so customer service was decidely not on the menu. The food was OK - but none of the six people thought it was SO good that they would come back for another round.

A decent Manager to pull things together a bit more like a traditional restaurant, and provide a few standard fare items would go a long way to keeping this operation in business.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Po' Shines also viewed

 

Been to Po' Shines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Po' Shines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.