We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No waffling, this place is terrific!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waffle Window

The Waffle Window
3610 SE Hawthorne Blvd, Portland, OR 97214 (Formerly Waffle Window)
971-255-0501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3,555 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Dessert, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: We are: Portland style Liege sugar waffles handmade for you using local and seasonal ingredients and set in a fun and whimsical atmosphere.From a bacon brie and basil waffle to a huckleberry jam with lemon panna cotta waffle, you just never know what you might find!
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“No waffling, this place is terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The liege waffles at this place are amazingly great. Crisp, sweet waffles with amazing toppings topped with a huge dollop of whipped cream. I tried the Bananarumba waffles which which was bathed in a delicious caramel sauce, fresh bananas, chopped walnuts and lots of whipped cream. My spouse had a Blueberry Cheesecake which was topped with large cooked blueberries in a blueberry sauce, another sauce that tasted like cheesecake and lots of whipped cream. Both were terrific and we couldn't decide which was better.

Portions are ample and you definitely won't leave hungry. You won't feel stuffed either. Just pleasantly full.

Waffles are ordered at a window on the side of the Bread and Ink Cafe. Then you can sit inside or outside and wait for your name to be called. The wait was pretty short and well worth it.

We'll definitely return to try other offerings on the menu. Yum!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    35
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Good place for a sweet or savory snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Waffles were tasty. Great selection of inventive waffles! On a rainy Portland dayntheybeven had a small amount of indoor seating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had the blueberry cheesecake waffles...simply amazing! This is a must stop! The service was great, we sat outside to enjoy the cold weather but inside is nice and cozy for those who prefer to stay out of the cold. I would definitely say this is the best breakfast I have ever had.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quick, great, fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I loved the food, and it's a fun place for summer eating. You can sit outside with your pooch and enjoy the day. It's pretty cheap too! There isn't much except for waffles and drinks so don't expect a full breakfast but they do waffles great!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I timed it. This place is less than a 10 minute walk from my son's house.
We just visited Portland and this became one of my favorite places the first time I got a waffle there.
My choice was the one with blueberries, whipped cream and key lime flavored curd.
Yes - I did go back and had we stayed another day, I'd have been back again.
The bad news is that the 10 minute walk probably doesn't burn off half of the calories included in this treat!
Dd I say it was really, really tasty? It was!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waffle Window also viewed

 

Been to The Waffle Window? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waffle Window, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.