We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting architechture and great venues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gerding Theater at the Armory

The Gerding Theater at the Armory
128 NW 11th Avenue, Portland Center Stage, Portland, OR 97209 (Pearl)
+1 503-445-3700
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Gerding Theater at the Armory is the home of Portland Center Stage, the city's leading professional theater and one of the top 20 largest regional theater companies in the U.S. PCS's mission is to inspire our community by bringing stories to life in unexpected ways. Founded in 1988, PCS attracts more than 150,000 theatergoers annually with its blend of classical, contemporary and world premiere works, along with its summer playwrights festival, JAW. PCS also offers a variety of education and community programs tailored for patrons of all ages. Located in Portland's Pearl District, the Gerding Theater at the Armory houses two theaters: The U.S. Bank Main Stage and the Ellyn Bye Studio. It was the first building on the National Register of Historic Places - and the first performing arts venue - to achieve a LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Platinum certification.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Interesting architechture and great venues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

You will find many interesting concerts and plays offered at the Gerding. This part of town has a great many interesting things to see and do, great shops, great restaurants. Parking can definitely be a challenge.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    22
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“wonderful arts venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Progressive in it's design, this lovely theater venue is top notch. Seating is good anywhere in the theater. People with hearing difficulties can request electronic devices to boost sound as most productions do not use a microphone. The food, though not extensive, is high quality. The environment and staff are very friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Oregon
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Nice setting for quality performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We attended a recent performance of the new musical "Somewhere In Time," based on the 1980 Christopher Reeve-Jane Seymour movie. It was quite enjoyable, and the theater itself is very comfortable -- fairly intimate, with even the seats in the back of the auditorium not too far way to see all the action (We were in the third row, so no problem there at all).
Acoustics were also quite good, in fact, sounded better to me than most performances at the much larger Keller Auditorium in the city's SW quadrant.
As for the musical itself: The June-July performances are a world premiere engagement of the new show, written and produced by Broadway veterans. The four "leading" performers also boast Broadway credits, and the show reportedly has Broadway ambitions for sometime after its Portland debut.
I hop[e they make it -- my only question mark is that the show did not had a "show-stopping number" and I didn't find myself humming any of the tunes later. One of the songs hinted at inspiration from the theme from the movie "Love Story" back in the early '70s. Even the title, "Where Do We Begin?" is almost a direct copy of a portion of those lyrics.
Nevertheless, a most enjoyable afternoon. I just hope they can tweak it enough to bring that "Pow" moment to the stage, and give me that melody I can't get out of my head.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Fantastic theater!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a great venue! Located in an old armory, this transformation to theater was brilliant. We enjoyed the facility and the play we saw, "The Peoples Republic of Portland." The theater is in a great location and easily accessed via the streetcar. Portland has done it again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Awesome facility and great show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

What a great theater and facility in downtown! The show we saw Somewhere in Time was great. Not a bad seat in the house.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gerding Theater at the Armory also viewed

 

Been to The Gerding Theater at the Armory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gerding Theater at the Armory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.