We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Solution” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9750 NE Cascades Parkway, Portland, OR 97220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 Food & Bev Credit
Ranked #11 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Port Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Solution”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We neded to return a rental car to the airport, then stay 2 nights to have our first look at Portland. The Hotel was first class, of course. The shuttle bus service to and from the airport was efficient and the drivers cheerful and helpful. The breakfast room had windows onto the indoor pool.... watching other peoples' kids having pool fun is a breakfast bonus! Breakfast was OK, too.
Cascade Station is a major centre, with shops and dining options. The MAX light rail station is handy and the service is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your time and feedback! We understand travelers depend on the reviews of others when making their decisions and your thoughtful feedback is essential!
We would love to be your hotel of choice when returning to Portland, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    101
    15
    6
    8
See reviews for
104
76
23
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Mass
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Oftentimes an airport hotel is simply a hotel convenient to the airport that also has a shuttle bus. The Hyatt Place is more like a hotel designed for air travelers. They have all the electronics you need to check your flight, check in, etc., 24 hour schedulable shuttle (Portland's early flights can be VERY early) and they pack a box breakfast if you need to leave before their (free) breakfast opens. The box breakfast does not contain a beverage. I thought this was an oversight until I realized you can't take it through security anyway, duh.

If I were to voice one complaint, it's that while the rooms are quiet and comfortable with excellent AC, the windows don't block out the airplane noise very well. Make sure to ask for a room facing away from the runways

Room Tip: ask to face away from the air traffic pattern
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We appreciate your thoughtful feedback!
I noted your comment concerning the drink in the breakfast on the go bag, it's funny you mention it, as we went back and forth on this issue. I agreed with your initial thought process, we need to include a drink, and at first we indeed decided to include it. The feedback quickly reached us we were not being helpful as we intended, given many guests taking extremely early flights would not open those bags prior to being seated on the plane thus being held up in security. I didn't consider that at first, and being an airport hotel manager, that was a little counter intuitive of me. So glad you understood right away! :)
Again, thank you so much for your time and feedback, we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I had one evening in Portland during a west coast family vacation from SF to Seattle. If we had more time in Portland, without hesitation we would have stayed longer at the Hyatt Place Portland AP / Cascade Station. Room 407 faced a nearby office building and rail line that never detracted from the hotel. The rooms are spacious, well appointed with mini fridge, desk and free Wi-Fi. My wife loved the seating area, a large two piece sofa and small wall divider that separated the bedroom and living room area. The bathroom is fitted with a soothing rain tree shower head, and spacious counter space. Flat screen TV was brand new and appreciated for Sportscenter highlights of that day's NFL action. I originally did not see the front desk; we parked our rental car in the back lot and walked in seeing a self service kiosk. Check in with the kiosk was under three minutes and we were headed to our room. I originally chose this hotel because of its proximity to PDX, and we never felt like the hotel was on the glide slope. Everything felt new, and having a hot tub / pool open 24 hours was much appreciated. If (when) we come back to PDX, we will stay at the Hyatt Place again. As a bonus, Target is 2 blocks away and dining options within five minute walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! I am a manager with experience in several hotel chains and I agree the layout of this hotel is wonderful for the traveler, I am so happy to learn you also enjoyed the experience!
We look forward to having the opportunity to serve your needs again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The room was spacious, the outlets plentiful, nice flat screen TV, refrigerator & microwave. Beds are comfortable and the staff were great. The offer 24 hour shuttle to the airport This is close to the airport to expect some noise. Breakfast fare was included and basically the usual.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We appreciate your kind words about our hotel! We strive to proved consistent and purposeful service to each and every guest we have the opportunity to serve, thank you so much for letting us know we acheived our goal during your stay! I will share your comments with our staff!
I also wanted to mention I also enjoy the Hyatt Grand Bed when I get to stay in Hyatt. You can now purchase those beds for your own home at Hyattathome.com :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Hyatt had larger rooms, clean and well designed. The breakfast had healthy choices and lots of icy cold juices. They did not use throw away styrofoam plate ar plastic dinnerware. The snack case had good sweets for a late night treat. Staff was very friendly. Got us to the airport promptly. I will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! It is always wonderful to hear about the amenities guests of our hotel appreciate, and I am happy to report we have added a few new treats to the snack case! Hope you have a chance to test them out on your next trip! Again, thank you so much for your time and feedback, we sincerely appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have used the Hyatt Place twice now when making an early flight. We check in and eat at one of the places nearby at Cascade Station.The shuttle is 24 hours, the rooms nice and the rates for the park and fly prgram very reasonable. We will use it again as it beats getting up even earlier and driving to the airport and then find a place in the dark.

Room Tip: It is also near the Max line if you are staying there and want to train into dowtown. It is by the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We appreciate your kind words! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, we sincerely appreciate it. Feedback such as yours is essential in ensuring we are providing service guests want to experience! Again, thank you for your time, we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great location -- close to airport and shopping -- clean hotel, great service, outstanding continental breakfast, and walking distance to several restaurants. Easy checkin-in/check-out. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel! We are overjoyed to learn you had a wonderful stay! I will share your comments with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station

Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station Hotel Portland
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station Hotel
Address: 9750 NE Cascades Parkway, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#11 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within one mile of the Portland International Airport, and in the Cascade Station shopping area, the Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station provides the ideal accommodations for anyone visiting Portland, whether it be for business or leisure. This cutting edge hotel is minutes from downtown Portland and several thrilling attractions including PGE Park, Oregon Convention Center and The Rose Garden (home of the Trail Blazers). For the business traveler, you will also find our location conveniently located within a few miles of several local Corporations such as Toyota, Rentrak and Boeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.