We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, housekeeping issues?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9301 NE Cascades Pkwy, Portland, OR 97220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #30 of 132 hotels in Portland
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice room, housekeeping issues?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Overall very nice hotel, really friendly front desk person checked us in. Rooms are large, as expected, and clean. We arrived late, and we wonder what was up with the person who maintained our room: A/C was blasting, set at 62 degrees (in Eco- conscious Portland, of all places!), so room was meat locker cold. 2 bottles of conditioner, no shampoo. No cups in bathroom, just one hand towel. None of these are deal breakers, of course, but it's the little things that can make the end of a travel day relaxing or stressful. We've stayed here before and not has issues, so I'm guessing this is an isolated problem. Would try again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert E, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
I really appreciate your review of the Residence Inn and your honesty with the issues in your suite. We have recently made modifications to our inspection process and I assure you these issues have been resolved and your next visit will be relaxing and problem free.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review my hotel and I look forward to having you as our guest again.

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    61
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
72
61
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel several times for its convenience, cleanliness, location, spaciousness and friendliness. If you have an early flight, it would be hard to beat this Residence Inn as a place to stay near the Portland Airport.

Breakfast is a little better than the average hotel morning spread. Since we had to leave at 4:45 AM, I didn't expect to partake in the breakfast during our last stay, but to my surprise, they had a limited number of items set out for us at that early hour. It wasn't a lot, but enough, and we appreciated it.

The only real problem we've ever experienced with this hotel has been with the shuttle. My husband, a professional photographer, always carefully loads his large padded camera bag in the back of the shuttle. But once our driver moved the bag to a precarious spot when a very late arriving guest flagged our driver down as we were pulling away, handing over his golf bag. When the driver opened the back door of the shuttle at the airport, my husband's camera bag fell from the top of the luggage pile to the ground. Crack went his lens. I do have to give credit to the hotel for quickly compensating us for the broken lens.

I hadn't thought much about the shuttle until this past week, when we'd returned from a trip and called the Residence Inn for a pick-up. We'd hoped to beat rush hour traffic, and knew we could do it if we kept moving. Unfortunately the Residence Inn's shuttle kept us waiting over a half and hour. Finally an employee at PDX phoned the hotel again for us, and they sent over a shuttle from their sister hotel. When we finally arrived at our hotel, a Residence Inn shuttle sat outside their front door. We never heard what the problem was, but we'd missed our chance to beat traffic and had to hang out around Cascade Station for a couple of hours.

Sadly the allure of even a perfect shuttle service has lessened, since Portland Airport now requires nearby hotels to charge fees for parking. These airport hotels used to offer park and ride deals that sometimes paid for themselves. Economy parking is so expensive at the airport now that you could actually save money during a longer trip by renting a nearby hotel room with the park and ride. I am amazed that Portland Airport has this sort of power over the hotels. Where is the free market? But I think the airport has some type of lease situation over these closest hotels. I believe that hotels a little further away still offer the park and ride. (This of course is not the Residence Inn's fault, but I thought it was worth knowing about.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert E, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
I’m so sorry for the experience that you recently had with the shuttle at my hotel. I understand your frustrations completely and will work with my team to make sure accurate times are given to guests that are arriving in Portland and traveling to the Residence Inn so that everyone can plan accordingly, and we can exceed all expectations!

Also, on your next trip out of town please call the hotel after your reservation is made and we can assist with your parking needs while you’re away.

I look forward to your next visit to the Residence Inn.

Thank you,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you are flying into or out of PDX, you should consider an overnight here...This Marriott property is steps away from the light-rail station, and Cascade Station has all the essentials for the traveler: Target, Staples, Panda Express, Famous Daves, and other department stores are close-by.
The property has all the amenities that you'd expect to find in a Marriott property, and is less than a half-mile from the airport...(easy to drop off your rental car and take either the Marriott shuttle or light rail to the property) ....If the parking lot is full, drive around back for plenty of parking spaces...
As a frequent-flier with Alaska, PDX is one of my hubs...I've stayed at some other PDX related peoperties, but this one has my vote!

Room Tip: If you dont have loads of luggage, take the light rail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The rooms are large and comfortable. Near Target and Ikea if you want to shop. Many restaurants nearby also (Famous Daves, Red Robin, BWW). Large selection at breakfast. Only complaint was that front desk clerk could not give me directions to the airport (finally asked the shuttle driver).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We initially tried to book in downtown Portland but, with hotels quickly filling up (and getting expensive), elected to choose this one by the airport. An amazing deal, with breakfast and parking included. Super easy train to downtown (maybe 25 minutes) and located in a convenient shopping district. Room was large, clean, modern, and well-appointed. Kitchen had all necessary appliances and utensils. Hot breakfast was far better than the usual continental offering at most hotels. Absolutely no service complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I recently spent a weekend in Portland. I decided to stay in this hotel because you can get a very resonable rate for what it is, instead of paying more in downtown for a worse room. It worked perflectly! They had a shuttle from the airport & back and the SkyTrain station is really on their parking lot. I was able to explore Portland in a very convinient way...

I stayed in a studio - it was very spacious, nice decor, very nice appliances. Staff was very good. And breakfast was superior than other places including many options and healthy options like fruit, yourgurts, etc...

Oh! It is next door to Target - so you can grab food right there if you want to eat in the room!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This Residence Inn seems pretty new so everything is fresh and clean. We chose this hotel because we had a late arriving flight and they have a free shuttle from the airport. We called when we were ready and they were there in 7 minutes and whisked us efficiently to our warm King studio.

The rooms are fine - lots of space and a comfy bed. Perfectly clean with a large flat screen tv that swivels to face the bed or the sitting area. The free internet was easy to access, fast and reliable. We were only there two nights so we didn't use the kitchen but it seemed well equipped. The bathroom was squeaky clean with great water pressure. Paul Mitchell amenities were a nice surprise. The sink is in an area outside the bathroom - not my favorite configuration, but convenient if you have a larger group. There's plenty of counter space and this is also where the closet is located.

Another reason we chose the RA was for the convenience to the light rail. The stop is literally at the edge of the parking lot. And $5 for an all-day ticket on any of the public transport - what a deal! In 15 minutes you're in the center of Portland and able to hop on any tram or bus you like. Target is right next door if you forgot something and there's a long strip mall all the way to Ikea at the other end with lots of shopping, restaurants, and a Starbucks.

The free breakfast was typical for a Residence Inn and included a couple of hot items, waffles, and all the usual. We had no problem finding a place to sit and really enjoyed the tables by the fireplace. Staff is kind and efficient and will advise and provide maps if you need them.

Airplane noise? If we heard any at all, it was really minimal. Overall the hotel was quiet and restful. We didn't hear anything from the rooms around, above or below us. There's an indoor pool and medium sized fitness room that both looked fine.

Tips for the light rail - It's easy to buy your tickets from the machine at the stop. On weekends it can be a half hour between trains - so plan ahead to minimize waiting.

I can't think of a thing that went wrong - it was a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station

Address: 9301 NE Cascades Pkwy, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Portland
#32 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#41 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Airport At Cascade Station Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.