We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11250 NE Holman, Portland, OR 97220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #31 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights, and was pleased with the accommodation. It was like a nice little studio apartment.The bed was comfortable, there was a full size refrigerator, microwave with popcorn and bowl to make it in, a two burner cooktop, dishwasher, and dishes and cooking utensils if required. The little shop in the foyer was very handy, as other shops were not close enough to walk for supplies. The business center provided 2 computers and printers, free of charge. The hotel provided a shuttle to transport you anywhere within a 3 mile radius, which included pickup and drop off at the airport. The Cascades shopping centre is close by and you can also get the Max light rail from there into Portland downtown. Staff very friendly. Keep windows closed at night, due to flight path.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCW, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear itchyfeetGoldCoast,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review about us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
It seems you were able to take advantage of our many amenities like the Candlewood Cupboard and our shuttle. We hope you were able to enjoy a good nights sleep while here, despite the airplanes nearby. And, thank you for mentioning our staff, they do their best to make sure you are leaving satisfied!
Best wishes,
Candlewood Suites Portland Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    42
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
51
29
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I've stayed in a lot of extended stay hotels and this one was very well maintained and very clean. The staff was exceptionally friendly and they went way out of the way this night to accommodate several travelers (myself included) who's flights were canceled. They brought in staff to operate the shuttle early (3AM) so several of us could catch our early departures.

Down side: No breakfast
Also note that my suite was a single room suite, I prefer the 2 room suites when the room has a full kitchen.

All in all, I would definitely recommend and stay in this hotel again!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCW, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Scott H,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's great to hear how our staff helped you and other guests during your stay. We are glad to have made your stay a great one. We apologize for not serving a complimentary breakfast, but we do have plenty of breakfast items in our Candlewood Cupboard. We hope you will be able to visit our hotel again.
Thank you,
Candlewood Suites Portland Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I guess I didn't realize that they don't clean your room everyday when I booked. They clean when you check out. You can get clean towels if you ask. They also didn't stock the kitchen area of our suite with coffee and popcorn for your room. I didn't think it was worth the money although the staff was very nice.

Room Tip: If you are a Priority Club member, go with a Holiday Inn. Better amenities for virtually the same mo...
See more room tips
Green Features: I guess they are environmentally friendly by not changing towels but I would like my bed to be made-even if they don't change the sheets until after I check out.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCW, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear MRiseling,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us. I do apologize you were not informed about our housekeeping, we do once a week housekeeping, and if you are not staying for more than a week, unfortunately you do not receive housekeeping. This is due to the fact that we are a Green Engage hotel, and we do our best to cut down on our use of extra water and electricity to reduce our footprint on the environment. We do let our guests replenish their towels or amenities in their room at any time. I also apologize for not having the coffee and popcorn replenished, we do keep extras handy in our Candlewood Cupboard.
Thank you for mentioning our staff, they strive to keep our guests happy throughout their time with us. I do hope you stay with us again.

Best wishes,
Candlewood Suites Portland Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I loved the proximity to a very nice Target. Beyond that, it was just a clean place to sleep.

I did take advantage of the market--they did not have Diet Coke. I also like the variety of TV channels available.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCW, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Katie B,
Thank you so much for doing a review of our establishment. We know how important cleanliness is at a hotel, and we are so happy to know we have met your needs. I do apologize for not having Diet Coke available during your stay, it seems to be a favorite around here. We are glad to know you were able to enjoy the selection we have on our televisions. Hopefully next time you can borrow some movies from our DVD Lending Library, we do our best to keep up to date on the latest movies.
Thanks again and we hope to see you again!
Candlewood Suites Portland Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Close to the Airport but no airplane noise which was great. 1 mile from Cascade Station where there are a few restaurants & a Target. Room was perfect for our family. Bathroom was spacious. No complimentary breakfast but kitchenette in the room came very in handy to be able feed the kids in the morning. Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCW, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Em O,
Thank you very much for taking time to do a review for our hotel. We are so excited to hear your stay with us was friendly and our rooms were spacious for you and your family. We hope the kitchenette made it feel more like home. We hope you can visit again soon.
Best wishes,
Candlewood Suites Portland Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at the Candlewood Suites and, having stayed at other hotels with suites, was expecting a separate bedroom. We found that what I had reserved was a studio suite, meaning the kitchen and bed were all in the same room. I was able to upgrade to a bedroom suite with no problems at all. This hotel is very close to the airport and we were concerned about the noise from the airplanes. The rooms and windows are of such high quality that we never heard any noise from the planes or from other guests. I wasn't aware of this previously, but the Candlwood does not provide daily cleaning services. This was not a problem for us and if we needed any extra coffee etc, the front desk was more than accommodating to ensure we had all we needed. They do not provide a complimentary breakfast, but there is a pantry with basic staples by the front desk and a full kitchen in the rooms. There are a couple of restaurants within 5 minutes walking and we found the location to be centrally located for all our needs.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCW, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear jsimmill,
Thank you very much for taking the time and reviewing our hotel. We are so pleased you were able to relax while staying with us. We know many people are concerned about noise coming from the airport, and here at the Candlewood Suites we try to make sure our guests have a peaceful nights sleep. Our front desk staff was happy to have been accommodating during your stay and helpful in any way possible. We hope you can come enjoy another relaxing stay with us soon!
Thank you again!
Candlewood Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I love this hotel. The rooms are spacious and EXTREMELY clean. The beds are comfortable the towels are thick and soft. The kitchen is fully functional with nice glasses, plates, storage bowls with lids etc... they also have rice cookers, toaster ovens, jumper cables, office supplies, games, movies, large coffee pot, coffee bean grinders and more to borrow from the "lending locker". Large closets, large dresser and plenty of bathroom storage. Lots of TV channels to choose from. I stayed on the first floor and I never heard any noise from outside or neighbors except a few times we heard weights slamming from people who obviously thought they were Popeye ( not an issue for us though) the free laundry is awesome. I definitely would recommend this hotel. If your staying long term ask to speak with sales manger to get a really good deal.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCW, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Joannam,
I am so happy that you enjoyed your time with us! We are glad to know you were able to use our Lending Locker and laundry facility with ease. Thank you for commenting on our cleanliness, we like to make sure our rooms are as clean as possible, especially when it becomes your second home. We hope you will be able to come visit us again!
Thank you and best wishes,
Candlewood Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport

Address: 11250 NE Holman, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Portland
#28 Business Hotel in Portland
#36 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests Love Portland, OR Airport Hotel's Location. Situated in Portland, Oregon near the airport, this hotel's welcoming amenities and cozy surroundings provide the convenience of a hotel and the comfort of an apartment. With downtown Portland just a short drive away and Cascade Station shopping center within walking distance, you'll never run out of things to do here at the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Portland - Airport.Corporate travelers looking for Portland, Oregon airport hotels appreciate our free 2.5 mile area shuttle in addition to the perks like free high-speed Internet access. Guests can count on an easy commute to Boeing, Oregon National Guard and the Honda and Toyota Training Centers. There's a boardroom suitable for on-site meetings of up to eight people.Patrons of this hotel in Portland, Oregon are only minutes from Portland's city center, which boasts incredible architecture, shopping and fine dining. Other "must see" area attractions include the Portland Saturday Market and the Oregon Zoo. Guests can literally view the entire city from the OHSU's Portland Aerial Tram.Top-notch amenities like free self-service laundry facilities and a 24-hour Fitness Center ensure convenience for guests. You can grill out in the gazebo or relax with a DVD from our free lending library. We offer Park, Stay and Go Packages, too, which include up to 14 days of free parking at the hotel. While in Portland, Oregon, you can "Consider Us Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.