We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for the nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11250 NE Holman, Portland, OR 97220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
alexandria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Thanks for the nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are wonderful and the service is great. We were surprised at the good rate we were able to get. Thanks for making our stay great. We will be back if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear alie g,
Thank you for taking the time to give us an excellent 5 star review after your stay with us in January. I am glad our competitive rates helped make your stay great. We look forward to your stays with us next time you are in the Portland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    36
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
45
26
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here two nights, one before leaving for a trip, and one on return. The rooms were freshly renovated with complete kitchens, lovely bath area, good beds, and great "Park and Fly" rates. There is staff on duty at all times, and they were very friendly and helpful. There is no restaurant, but they do maintain a "cupboard" of snacks and cold sandwiches. Free coffee is always available. I will be back!

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor both nights. There never seemed to be a noise problem anywhere in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Trabelbug2,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We especially appreciate you mentioning the full kitchens in every room and our friendly and helpful service. Lastly, we are so happy our park, stay and go package helped to ease the burden of travel for you. The package, when booked at the hotel or on our website includes up to 14 days of future parking. Also, if you plan on not staying and parking we do allow park and fly for $7 per day. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Nathan Storms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was a non-descript, but well maintained property. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and bright, bed was a little less than comfortable. Good alternative to Choice Hotel Group hotels. Rates were good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear djr311,

Thank you for providing a review of our hotel. We appreciate you mentioning how well the property was maintained and the friendly and helpful service you received from our staff. I am suprised by the mattress being a little less than comfortable as we are a fairly new property and receive tons of great comments about our serta perfect sleeper mattresses. Please contact me at the hotel directly so I can speak with you further about this. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

KIndest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed one night and it was very clean the staff was amazing and I will stay again when I return to Portland. I really liked the little store and the free DVD check out. The airport shuttle was right on time. This place is doing everything right, please keep up the great work.

Room Tip: Stay on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Kendale C,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We escpecially appreciate you mentioning the the friendliness of our night clerk and the cleanliness of our hotel. I will make sure to pass along you thoughtful comments to our staff. Secondly, thank you for mentioning two of our favorite amenities, our Candlewood Cupboard onsite store and our complimentary DVD Lending Library. Guests enjoy the ability to relax on their owns terms and this furthers our commitment to each guest. Thank you again. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Portland.

Kindest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed four nights at this propertly last week and I can tell you that it would be great for even a month or two. The bed was VERY comfortable (something that is NOT true for ALL Candlewood Suites). The full size refrigerator was good to have, as well as the two burner stove. My room was very clean and everything was in good working order. As with all Candlewoods there is a well-stocked pantry from which you can buy frozen prepared foods, ice cream, etc. (But don't look for health foods here!) The staff was very friendly and very helpful. When I asked where I could buy high quality fruits and vegetables they directed me to a wonderful healthy foods grocery store called New Seasons, about six miles away. For those looking for a good shopping opportunity, there is a large upscale mall nearby (Cascades). The hotel has a shuttle which can deliver you there if you wish -- it is only about a mile.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear EHMProgram,

Thank you so much for your review of our extended stay hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to give others insight of why we are an excellent choice for extended stay accomodations in Portland and Vancouver. I appreciate you touching on our comfortable Serta Perfect Sleeper mattresses as we do receive positive comments and we all know a good nights rest is what you truly need. I have taken not and we will look into some additional healthy items to help balance the Candlewood Cupboard's quick items. Thank you again for such a wonderfully done review. We hope to see you again soon.

KIndest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Working for a hotel is both a plus and minus - we can critique hotels to make sure we are staying in the nicest and get ideas for the hotel we work; at the same time we really do critique everything (which can be a drawback). The Candlewood Suites Portland was spot on from the time of making the reservation on the phone, to the point of check-out. Ashley, a front desk associate, was one of the most friendly and outgoing employees I have seen. I deal with a lot of really bad service and un-happy people (I am from California! hehe). It was refreshing to have such a flawless experience. The hotel was clean, the room was large, the kitchen was awesome, and the beds were very, surprisingly, comfortable. This hotel was right down the street from my rental car place, Thrifty, making the locations awesome. We also came into contact with another employee, a housekeeping supervisor, who was friendly, informative and overall genuinely nice! Portland is the nicest city in the world!!! I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Bring your own shampoo and conditioner!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear BWOCManager,
I would like to say Thank You for taking the time to write a fabulous review of your stay with us at Candlewood Suites Portland Airport. We strive to provide Excellent customer service to all. I am very proud of our staff and the great service we are able to provide. I will make sure to pass on your fantastic compliments to both Ashley and Stacy(the executive housekeeper). Thank you for also mentioning the convenience to the local car rental companies. Next time you are in the Portland area we would love to have you stay with us again.

Thank You
Randy Baggett
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Easy to get to. Large room (we were in a queen suite) with good sized closet, big microwave and full-sized fridge. Bathroom smelled a little mildewy but we just the fan on at night and when we were out. Nice pantry downstairs. No complimentary breakfast but there are places nearby. No pool/hot tub but there was a gym. Airport noise was minimal but if you're there when military jets are doing maneuvers, you'll really notice it (friends at a nearby hotel with a higher rating also heard them). Our room was right next to the elevator but we never heard it. Would stay again as it was clean, staff were friendly, room was nice, and getting to it was easy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear curvacious,
Thank you for submitting a review for your stay with us at Candlewood Suites Portland Airport. I appreciate you mentioning our friendly staff and the cleanliness of the suite. We try to provide a clean and quiet stay for all guests. It is true that the jets from the base can be bothersome, thankfully they are not departing all the time. We look forward to your stay next time you are in Portland Oregon.

Thank You,
Randy Baggett
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport

Address: 11250 NE Holman, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#32 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#32 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests Love Portland, OR Airport Hotel's Location. Situated in Portland, Oregon near the airport, this hotel's welcoming amenities and cozy surroundings provide the convenience of a hotel and the comfort of an apartment. With downtown Portland just a short drive away and Cascade Station shopping center within walking distance, you'll never run out of things to do here at the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Portland - Airport.Corporate travelers looking for Portland, Oregon airport hotels appreciate our free 2.5 mile area shuttle in addition to the perks like free high-speed Internet access. Guests can count on an easy commute to Boeing, Oregon National Guard and the Honda and Toyota Training Centers. There's a boardroom suitable for on-site meetings of up to eight people.Patrons of this hotel in Portland, Oregon are only minutes from Portland's city center, which boasts incredible architecture, shopping and fine dining. Other "must see" area attractions include the Portland Saturday Market and the Oregon Zoo. Guests can literally view the entire city from the OHSU's Portland Aerial Tram.Top-notch amenities like free self-service laundry facilities and a 24-hour Fitness Center ensure convenience for guests. You can grill out in the gazebo or relax with a DVD from our free lending library. We offer Park, Stay and Go Packages, too, which include up to 14 days of free parking at the hotel. While in Portland, Oregon, you can "Consider Us Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, AAA Travel Services, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.