We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel in Category” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11250 NE Holman, Portland, OR 97220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel in Category”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed here overnight on arrival at Portland airport. This is a suites hotel and best for more lengthy stays, and it is a very comfortable and seemingly efficiently run place. The bed was comfortable. The tv in good shape. Sitting and eazy chairs. Large refrigerator and basics for cooking, including stove. Enjoyed the complimentary popcorn for popping in the microwave. The laundry was FREE! They have a small store of essential goods and foods that you can access with your hotel key, and pay for on the honor system. This is a very well conceived and run budget suites hotel and I highly recommend it. The staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear frequenttraveler072,

Thank you so much for your thorough review. We are so glad you enjoyed all the amenities we offer which allow you to work, live and play on your own terms and not ours. We appreciate you mentioning our free guest laundry as this helps ease the burden while you are on vacation, relocating or temporary assignment for work. Also, we are ecstatic you enjoyed the Candlewood Cupboard's "honor system" as it is conducted in such a way to show each guest we value them and want them to feel like they are at home. We look forward to hosting you again as your travel brings you to Portland. Thank you.

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    32
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
38
25
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Clean rooms, friendly staff, and east access to the 205. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Pilot Travlr,

Thank you for the "great" review of our Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel at the Portland Airport. We appreciate you mentioning the cleanliness of our rooms and the friendliness of our staff. I will pass along the kudos from you to the staff. Also, thank you for mentioning the easy access to 205. We find that guests enjoy the convenient access to Downtown Portland, Cascade Station as well as the Mt. Hood and Columbia Gorge recreation areas. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Again, thank you.

Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was my first stay at Candlewood suites, on a family vacation to Portland. The hotel has everything your family may need, without the frills that will increase your room rates. We liked to room quality (looked new, clean bathrooms), full kitchen with stove, toaster, microwave etc., laundry facilities, complimentary shuttle service and friendly hotel staff.
Everything was perfect for a quick overnight stay before or after a long flight.

Room Tip: Ignore ratings for Swimming pool and restaurant - this hotel doesnt have a pool or restaurant as far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear RushHour707,

Thank you for your "Excellent" review of our hotel. We always love to hear excellent feedback from guests who have tried the Candlewood Suites for the first time. We enjoy being able to offer all the amenities you need and expect at an affordable price without charging you for amenities that you may or may not use. Thank you for mentioning our friendly hotel staff as our hotel ranks very highly in service both in the Portland area and among the Candlewood Suites Brand of Hotels nationwide. Our Complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle helps ease the burden of travel and allows for the option of park and fly packages that can be booked directly with our guest services staff or on our websiite. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is our second trip to Candlewood. Nothing has changed. Friendly staff, quiet, and clean. But better than that, the rooms are comodious (what a word!) and well appointed--Full size refrigerator, hi-amp micro-wave, dishes and a dishwasher. We had a corner room, which meant a seperate bedroom (with flatscreen--we woudn't have it any other way) as well as an ample livingroom with another flatscreen.

Close to the airport, but remarkably quiet. Once-a-week maid service, but you can get fresh towels, etc. at the desk at any time. There's a small "deli" that sells the kind of stuff you can eat out of hand or fix in a microwave and (this is the neat part) it's all done on the honor system.

This is a great one-night stop, but it's even better as a base camp for folks spending time in the PDX area. Complimentary laundromat, kitchen space, and an overall vibe of care and pride, and at price few will match make this a real winner.

Room Tip: We saved a few bucks by paying in advance, but there is no refund on cancellation. Not for everyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear BuyBonds,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing such an amazing review. The title of your review sums up our hospitality vision, to be a "Great Value" for everyone who needs extended stay lodging while in Portland. I especially appreciate you mentioning the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our hotel as these are two areas where we strive for perfection. Also, thank you for mentioning our weekly housekeeping as we attempt to do our part to make our planet more "Green" and to stand by our motto of allowing each guest to "live on their own terms and not ours". We enjoy getting to know each of our repeat guests and look forward to hosting you again in the future. Again, thank you.

Warmest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

What's not to love? I stayed one night to be near the airport after visiting my son at Pacific University. Since we are paying for private college, I am l looking for clean, quiet comfort at a low price. I loved it. A fully stocked kitchenette, went down the road to pick up some groceries, and had a perfectly wonderful, restful evening. Watched an HBO movie from a recliner chair with a glass of wine, had a nice hot bath, peaceful sleep, and a short shuttle ride to the airport the next morning. I will always stay here whenever I have an early flight out of Portland.


  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Ed-Michelle-Hawaii,

Your title says it all. Our Candlewood Suites Portland Airport is "just what guests needed" in Portland. We are the only mid level extended stay hotel in the Portland Market. We are able to create a value unlike any other extended stay hotel without sacrificing services or cleanliness. We appreciate you mentioning our kitchens as this amenity allows individuals to eat healthier and save costs. Our location is ideal to the Portland Airport and downtown Portland. We cannot wait to have you back again on your next trip to Portland.

Kindest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Hey now!

So we travel a good amount, mostly for pleasure and recently found ourselves in Seattle and Portland. We needed a place for a 1 night stay in Portland and came to TripAdvisor.com to read up on options. Almost all of the reviews of this place have been very positive and I will add to that good vibe.

This hotel is located just a short jaunt from the airport, but not too far from downtown Portland if you have a car.

The experience:

Check in: Easy, friendly, quick. Things I noticed upon check in. A large collection of DVDs behind the counter for borrowing. Wow. Nice touch if you are traveling with small children and are in need of a new movie. The commissary is a nice touch as well. A 24 hour small mini story where you can get drinks, food, toiletries, coffee, etc.... something I had not seen before and liked a lot.

Room: One word -- HUGE. We had the one bedroom king room. The kitchenette was lovely with a big refrigerator, small stove, microwave (complete with popcorn inside), dishwasher and a large conference table that separated the kitchenette from the living room. Living room had a standard sofa and nice sitting chair and a flat screen (42 inch?). The bedroom had a king bed, another flat screen and the pillows... oh my the comfy pillows!!! We were still a little jet lagged from the east coast but the sleep was oh so good. Bathroom was pretty standard, clean and again the towels matched the pillows in softness and high quality.

Other things we noticed. Complimentary washer and dryer room. Yes indeed free laundry. The "fitness center" left much to be desired, but was no different than most hotel fitness rooms. They had 1 recumbent bike, 1 elliptical, 2 treadmills and a nautilus machine. The heat was on way too much in there and I had to cut my workout short, but some of that was my own issue. Clean ---- oh my is this place clean!!!! Enough said there.

The neighborhood is full of hotels and there is a 24 hour restaurant near by if needed.

I do not know the next time I will be in Portland, but if I am again I will stay here. Really nice job. The staff we encountered were very friendly and professional. Thanks

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear cmg2101,

Thank you for your thorough and candid review of our extended stay hotel. We are so glad you mentioned our amenities that make being away from home much easier. Our guests love the 24 hr Candlewood Cupboard which is run on the honor system. Also, our guests enjoy the DVD lending library as a way to relax after a stressfull day. Lastly, we appreciate you mentioning the cleanliness of our hotel and the friendliness of our staff as we enjoy the opportunity to create an amazing experience for each and every guest. We look forward to hosting you again as your travel brings you back to the Greater Portland Area.

Kindest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gleneden Beach, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

My wife and I just checked out this afternoon and I wanted to write this while it was fresh in my mind. This was our second stay at the Candlewood Suites and I'm certain it won't be out last. We stayed here during February and March for about six weeks on business and were so pleased with our accommodations and the great staff that when we needed to return to Portland in April there was no question as to where we would stay. The location is convenient (near the airport, near I-205 and near the Columbia River) and the accommodations are first class but it's the staff that really makes the difference. Putting nice furnishings in a new hotel isn't that hard to do - but hiring, training and keeping excellent staff is much more difficult. We live on the coast in a very small town and we're accustomed to friendly people who know our names and always have a ready smile. That's what we found at the Candlewood Suites. We we returned for this last short stay it was like we never left. It truly was like coming home. Although we live on the coast we have a number of business clients in Portland and when we needed a conference room it was arranged and when we needed to store some supplies they provided secure storage space for us.
There's a free laundry and gym on the ground floor and a Bar-B-Que in a covered area outside as well as 24 hour staffing in the lobby. We had a one-bedroom suite with two flat screens and a full kitchen with dishes and cookware. There's wi-fi and wired internet and the couch becomes a sofa-bed which was great when our kids showed up to visit. There's a library of free Movies and a free copy of the daily newspaper to go with the complimentary coffee. If you decide to stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Bruce S,

Thank you so much for the excellent picture you have painted of our property. I am especially proud of you referring to our staff as excellent and that they are what truly makes a difference. Our hotel has a family and home feeling to it and we enjoy the opportunity to make a personal experience for each and every guest. Also, we do appreciate you mentioning our 24 hour services; guest laundry, fitness center and bbq gas grills which allow each guest to work, live and play on their own terms not ours. We were happy we exceeded your expecations and cannot wait to host you in the future. Again, thank you.

KIndest Regards,

Nathan Storms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport

Address: 11250 NE Holman, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Spa Hotel in Portland
#25 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#35 Business Hotel in Portland
#44 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests Love Portland, OR Airport Hotel's Location. Situated in Portland, Oregon near the airport, this hotel's welcoming amenities and cozy surroundings provide the convenience of a hotel and the comfort of an apartment. With downtown Portland just a short drive away and Cascade Station shopping center within walking distance, you'll never run out of things to do here at the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Portland - Airport.Corporate travelers looking for Portland, Oregon airport hotels appreciate our free 2.5 mile area shuttle in addition to the perks like free high-speed Internet access. Guests can count on an easy commute to Boeing, Oregon National Guard and the Honda and Toyota Training Centers. There's a boardroom suitable for on-site meetings of up to eight people.Patrons of this hotel in Portland, Oregon are only minutes from Portland's city center, which boasts incredible architecture, shopping and fine dining. Other "must see" area attractions include the Portland Saturday Market and the Oregon Zoo. Guests can literally view the entire city from the OHSU's Portland Aerial Tram.Top-notch amenities like free self-service laundry facilities and a 24-hour Fitness Center ensure convenience for guests. You can grill out in the gazebo or relax with a DVD from our free lending library. We offer Park, Stay and Go Packages, too, which include up to 14 days of free parking at the hotel. While in Portland, Oregon, you can "Consider Us Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.