We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snobs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Departure Restaurant and Lounge

Departure Restaurant and Lounge
525 S.W. Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)
+1 503-802-5370
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Departure Restaurant and Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 5th and 6th Avenue
Transit: Within a block of max transit. Within a couple of blocks of bus system of Trimet.
Description: Departure Restaurant is located atop the Nines Hotel and offers modern Asian cuisine in a sleek, cosmopolitan setting with two outdoor decks and stunning views of the city, mountains and river. Chef de Cuisine Gregory Gourdet creates traditional Asian preparations with Northwest ingredients in signature dishes such as the restaurant’s grilled kushiyaki selections, Indonesian spiced chicken and maguro karai honey sushi rolls. Departure’s bar showcases exotic cocktails, a global wine list and the city’s largest sake list.The saké and shochu list is one of the largest in the city and represents many hand-crafted, artisan producers. Departure boasts the design skills of Jeff Kovel of Skylab Architecture, one of Portland’s leading architectural firms. The overall design of the 9,000 square-foot space added a new full-level 15th floor to the original 1908 Meier & Frank building and two new rooftop patios with views overlooking downtown Portland, the Willamette River, Mt .Hood and Mount St. Helens. The design elements play off the notion of an urban escape.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Snobs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place is good as a location, decor, views, but... The food is so-so. The people come here to see and be seen, to show new clothes, try their stilettos, bring a date. It is not therefore a place to come and have diner, but more of a social/pick-up scene.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Departure Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I sent a message responding to your post about Departure and I wanted to make sure you received that response.

I take feedback very seriously and I appreciate you taking time out of your day to provide me with your thoughts. Being on top of a hotel does give us a wide variety of clientele, everyone from locals to guests visiting from all over the world. There are guests who come to Departure dressed up to be and be seen, which adds to the overall experience. I want everyone who joins us to feel comfortable and at ease no matter their reason for coming; dinner, drinks etc. I will follow up with the culinary team as well.

Again, thank you for you feedback and I hope you join us again soon.

Chris Scott
Departure Senior Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    118
    31
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great spot to hang out,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great appetizers....great bartenders....anyone who visits Portland ,has to stop by Departure....you'll love it,

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Strange place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The view from here is nice. However, the place is strange. After much frustration we left and went elsewhere.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian fusion in an exciting setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

An excellent restaurant, and really buzzing on the Thursday night we there. The signature Departure Chicken Wings were out of this world, just as good as billed. Also, the restaurant is amazing value provided you avoid higher-priced options like Wagyu beef. We had a full meal for two and glass of wine for under $65, which was exceptional value considering the overall quality. Fantastic views too, which must be even better on a sunny summer evening (rather than our cloudy October).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Asian Fusion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Broad variety of small plates. Definitely one of the best views in Portland. They did charge twenty dollars for providing wine glasses and unscrewing a wine bottle, no corkscrew needed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Departure Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Departure Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Departure Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.