We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy southern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tapalaya

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tapalaya
28 NE 28th Ave, Portland, OR 97232-3145
503-232-6652
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tapalaya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #351 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Burnside & Couch
Description: Tapalaya is the worlds first tapas (small-plates) restaurant serving Cajun/Creole cuisine. Everything on our menu is made from scratch, with love. The plates of food are small (appetizer or side items size) and perfect for sharing and pairing. Menu items highlight New Orleans favorites: Jambalaya, Collard Greens, N"awlins BBQ Shrimp, Corn Bread and Po'Boys (just to name a few). Join us for Live Music every Thursday and Happy Hour Every day (4:30-6:00pm).
Oregon
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Yummy southern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

With a mom from New Orleans, I'm picky about my southern food. Normally southern restaurants just over pepper everything, calling it blackened and totally miss the mark with Cajun. Not Tapalaya. An authentic representation. Left wondering if chef had spent time in N.O. Also great because it's lots of little plates, so you can order a bunch of things and share. We'll be back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Tapalaya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Randomly found our way here while in Portland. We enjoyed a terrific outdoor meal - we sampled a little bit of everything - all very good, but the fried chicken covered in maple syrup was marvelous! Friendly place and unique. Highly recommend

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Or
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“New Orleans tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

What a concept! Try 2 or 3 small plates of your favorite New Orleans dishes in tapa-size portions. Better yet, bring the family and friends and try a whole table full of their delicious New Orleans specialties.
The steak Diane, grilled asparagus, and sweet potato fries, for example, make a sensational dinner for two, and for the price of 3 tapas! The grillades and grits and the crawfish etouffee are truly authentic, as are their specialty drinks such as the Hurricane.
To make the experience even better, Reggie Houston and Janice Scroggins play jazz there every Tuesday during dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great New Orleans Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Tapalaya offers New Orleans style cuisine in tapas size portions. The menu includes a daily gumbo (ours was delicious and totally authentic), crawfish ettoufee, grillades and grits (a dish we tried and enjoyed), and soft shell crab that was excellent. You can craft your dinner with lots of tastes and everything we ate we would order again in a heart-beat. We had some of their unusual ice creams for dessert (bacon, and a coffee o'lait) and liked those too. Best of all was how reasonable the bill was, a bargain for the quality of the food. This place deserves more buzz.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Save room for dessert!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We love to come here for happy hour. The $3 hurricanes always make me happy! The idea here is Louisiana-style tapas, and the dishes tend to be fairly small but tasty. We especially like the steak diane, the jambalaya, the fried chicken (with bourbon pecan syrup!), and the pulled pork sandwich. The mac and cheese is decent if not exceptional, but the cornbread is always a bit disappointing. The desserts are all fantastic! Inevitably, we spend more money here than we meant to.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapalaya also viewed

 

Been to Tapalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapalaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.