We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oregon Zoo

Oregon Zoo
4001 Southwest Canyon Road, Portland, OR 97221-9704
503-226-1561
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 262 Attractions in Portland
Type: Scenic Railroads, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Community-supported since 1888, the Oregon Zoo is a world leader in animal welfare and conservation, connecting more than 1.6 million visitors with the world of wildlife every year.
Seattle
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I really liked this zoo but unfortunately it was under construction, so can't give it an excellent rating since part of it was closed off. But what I saw of it was great and look forward to going back when construction is finished. The gal working at the grill was nice and accommodated my food intolerances so I was able to find something to eat. Zoo was not so enormous that you can't see it all in one day, which is nice. Lion exhibit was awesome, you get so close up. One area is like hiking through the woods, just beautiful.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    283
    116
    26
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
grants pass oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Portland Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Expected to only be there for about an hour. We were there for over 4hrs. It was so interesting. They were doing some construction work, which has to be done sometime. Other than that it was wonderful and the food in the café was amazing. We had the wild mushroom soup it was the best. Can't wait to take my grandkids with me next time.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had alot of fun in January - a bit cold but was something to do. They are currently under construction for a new exhibit but it wasn't too hard to manuever around. Elephant and African exhibit was the best.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
““Zoo Once Again” Loved it 2nd time around….”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The zoo is really large and will require anywhere from 2-3 hours to view the whole place, a lot of animals to see from all over the world. We went to this zoo right before Christmas in Dec 2014, and the entire zoo gets lit up with Christmas light as soon as the sun sets. All the animals were out, which made of some really good clicks even though it was quiet chilly on the evening.

There is quite a lot of construction going on at the zoo, due to the new elephant ground they are working on which is set to open in 2015 sometime. The zoo is laid out really nicely but does tend to get confusing with all the different trails leading to the different sections of the zoo.

You get a see a lot of animals from around the world along with a souvenir shop, restaurant and small canteens within the zoo, good to grab hot drinks and snacks while walking around.

More than enough parking at this zoo but its $4 I believe to park. Admission price is really reasonable for the amount of fun you have while in there. Defiantly worth the trip while in Oregon.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We enjoyed our visit to Oregon Zoo. It is clean and well laid out. The animals seem to be well looked after and the additional train ride was nice. One of the better zoos.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oregon Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oregon Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.