We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can you say about animals?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oregon Zoo

Oregon Zoo
4001 Southwest Canyon Road, Portland, OR 97221-9704
503-226-1561
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 262 Attractions in Portland
Type: Scenic Railroads, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Community-supported since 1888, the Oregon Zoo is a world leader in animal welfare and conservation, connecting more than 1.6 million visitors with the world of wildlife every year.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What can you say about animals?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Anytime you get to go to a zoo....GO! This zoo will not dissapoint. The polar bears were very intertaining the baby elephant is so cute and there is lots of bears that can get close. The bats ar one of the faves too! One thing I did have a problem with is it was poorly mapped out. It was hard to make sure you went to some areas. I guess they make it that way so you keep coming back to get the lay of the land!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    283
    116
    26
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Most affordable zoo option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Small but nice zoo. Not a ton of unique animals, but a solid array. Very affordable (i.e. <$20 per adult) and you can buy a train ticket (approx $5) for a beautiful 15 minute ride through the forest in Washington Park over to the Portland Rose Garden (which has free admission).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lily the baby elephant. Zoo train to Washington Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Lily in person exceeds expectations. News footage showed her bursts of enthusiasm and rollicking personality when she was born December 2012. Six months later, she is bigger but still tiny compared to her mom. Lily waved her little trunk, gamboled about, picked up minute bits of alfalfa, and delighted us with her zest for just being alive.

I was prepared to pay for my granddaughter's and my admission and parking ($22), but when I mentioned that my granddaughter's family had a zoo pass, the staff person looked up my son-in-law's name, and sure enough, my granddaughter was a named member (her annual birthday gift for the past two years when she turned three) at the level that allowed two guests. Yay!

We've ridden the Zoomobile at night at Christmas for Zoolights when a person might resort to buying hot chocolate to pour on one's feet, so when my granddaughter wanted to ride the train, I thought it'd be fun to ride when we wouldn't be freezing. The route was completely different than the Zoolights within the zoo. Instead we were treated to a slow trek through a heavily canopied forest with deep ravines and twenty shades of green arriving at Washington Park. Spying a playground, I suggested we disembark and try it out. The conductor said to see him if we wanted to get off and reboard later. Alas, the little kid decided to play on the equipment after the five minute layover and the train was on its return trip. Next time I'd definitely get off and stroll the rose gardens without battling for parking then take the train back to the zoo.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauble Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“One of the best zoos in the USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

It was a cloudy, misty day in Portland and we were riding the MAX to go to a specialty store. Being tourists, we overshot the stop and wound up at the zoo. It was fantastic! The zoo was perfect for strolling through fairly natural surroundings and, at the same time, experiencing something new. It is excellent for small children (there were many on a Monday) and is totally accessible for strollers and wheelchairs. We especially liked the "Great Northwest" area which was very natural with trails winding through lush undergrowth (and animals too!).

The Asian elephants area was on the small side for the size of the elephants, but construction has already begun on a large expansion. There is a mother and baby elephant - so cute.

The large "Concert Lawn" has shows throughout the day and makes for a nice picnic area with lots of grass. It is also close to washrooms and a restaurant, should the parents need a coffee.

Consider a picnic lunch - there are lots of places to take a break, and it will keep the costs down. Watch for the special shows spaced throughout the day at many of the animal enclosures. There is a train which will take you to other areas of Washington Park. Plan on 4-6 hours. *** Take the MAX, as you will get $1.50 off each zoo ticket !***

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aumsville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I love the zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I love the Oregon Zoo. It was improved tremedously over the last 15 years! I love bringing my daughter as she loves "aminals"! There is something to see at every turn. We recently went to a zoo in Tacoma and she asked to leave after 30 mins because it was to much concrete to look at and not enough animals. Thanks Oregon Zoo for making this a great place to go!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oregon Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oregon Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.