We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Better Way to Spend A Saturday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Saturday Market

Portland Saturday Market
108 W Burnside, Portland, OR 97209 (Old Town - Chinatown)
503-222-6072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 61 Shopping in Portland
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Activities: Arts and crafts, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Operating since 1974 the Portland Saturday Market is the largest continually operating outdoor arts and crafts market in the nation. Located in Waterfront Park and Ankeny Plaza in Portland’s historic Old Town the Market is one of the most popular shopping destinations for local handcrafted goods. The Market offers a unique opportunity for customers to meet the artist as well as see one of a kind pieces created in the artist’s booth. Over 250 small businesses and individuals artists from across the NW region gather each week for the Saturday/Sunday event with live music and a plethora of exotic foods that will satisfy everyone’s appetite.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What Better Way to Spend A Saturday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was my second trip to Portland and my second trip to Saturday Market. It's a great place to try new and exotic foods, candies, kettle corn or teas and coffee. You can also shop for all sorts of hand made items and objects d' art. There was live music and street performers the first time I went; but these were not present the second time. I did go much earlier in the day so I may have just been TOO early. There is a very eclectic mix here so if your looking for hand made soap, art, photography, clothes, household items , or just about anything else. This is a FUN place to shop and likely you'll find what you were looking for and maybe even something you weren't.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    129
    47
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“30 something w/husband - weekend trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The market was expansive and had a wide variety of vendors. Some sold manufactured things (like hats and scarves), while other sold original art, soap, jewelry, printed shirts, and pottery. It was a nice eclectic mix of goods, most very affordably priced. There was also live music at two locations and some food carts. It was fun to stroll down to Voodoo donuts then make our way through the market to the park near the river.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Portland Sat/Sun Market .... great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Definitely worth a couple of hours to browse the 200+ booths. In my experience I discovered a lot of new crafts that I have never seen before. Such as the Korean Moon Lamp that we purchased. And of course some Christmas crafts. ( Like we needed more ....) Everyone is very friendly & there is no pressure to check it all out & have a chat. Then we had to test the food trailers & bought the best Sharma ever. So good but there were lots of other great bites as well. In the background a musician played on stage. I would certainly recommend that you spend an hour or two exploring the market

Safe landings
Mike N

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“what a nice variety!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Everything from various clothing to beautiful jewelry. This is a fun place to stop and shop! Food and snacks are also available.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver,bc
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“fun at the market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

we enjoyed the afternoon walking around and seeing everything the food was great the music great and lots and lots of arts nd crafts and great ideas.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portland Saturday Market also viewed

 

Been to Portland Saturday Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Saturday Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.