We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mansion in the sky” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pittock Mansion

Pittock Mansion
3229 NW Pittock Drive, Portland, OR 97210
503-823-3624
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$98*
and up
Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia...
Ranked #18 of 262 Attractions in Portland
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historical home with wonderful views of downtown Portland.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Mansion in the sky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Well maintained, large mansion high in the hills with terrific view of the mountains and city. The huge grounds are also maintained well. Almost all rooms of the original home is accessible. Tour guide was very informed and knowledgeable. Reasonable admission price.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    291
    50
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“beautiful place and real piece of Portland history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

any one who's interested in Portland history, it is worth a visit. It's really a beautiful home and even though it's big, it's not difficult to imagine living there. The history is well presented.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountlake Terrace
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“love love love this house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I'm a history nut so going into this house was amazing for me my fav part was the little house on the side were the car hop lived in the begining but the mansion it self was also very amazing I love the kitchen the most its not very picture friendly though they have ropes everywere its sad but I understaind they r needed its worth the entry fee cause it gos to the up keep of the house and be ready to spend time there

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved seeing a bit of Portland history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The Pittock Mansion is definitely worth a visit if you find yourself in Portland. I love to see historic homes like this, and we were able to take a self-guided tour through the mansion. The home is beautiful, and there are great views from the bedrooms. I only wish more of the rooms were open, but there were signs saying they do "behind the scene" tours about once a month. Unfortunately we were not visiting at one of those times.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eg Ca
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“All of the convenieces of a modern home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Self guided tour lets you see how the Pittock family lived, too bad they let the house run down after only 45 years or so of living in it. Fortunate that concerned citizens and the City purchased and renovated the property. Perched on a hill in the Nortwest neighborhood you get fabulous views of all of Portland. While advanced in years, Mr. Pittock had wonderful luxuires built into the home like game room, music room, a personal shower stall with numerous water sources.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pittock Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pittock Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.