We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pretty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Japanese Garden

Portland Japanese Garden
611 SW Kingston Ave, Portland, OR 97205
+1 503-223-1321
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 262 Attractions in Portland
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered the most authentic Japanese Garden outside of Japan, the Portland Japanese Garden is a haven of tranquil beauty in all seasons. Throughout the year, the Garden offers arts and culture exhibitions, festivals, educational programs, and horticultural workshops. A must-see when visiting the Pacific NW United States.
Elko, Nevada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“very pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It does cost but it's a good time and pretty. They even have a tea place and foodies which I identify, I think it was spendy. But a good experience. You can also get a free pass at any Portland library if it's not checked out. You need to call in advance.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,443
    448
    132
    23
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breath Taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We LOVED this place. Unfotunately it wasn't in bloom while we were there, but the grounds are very well laid out and it was so peaceful. It too us about an hour to get through it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Picturesque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We lucked out and had amazing weather. This garden was really well-maintained, and was a lot of fun to photograph. Cherry blossoms were beautiful. It was real easy to get there by taking the bus from the Oregon Zoo. That's where the tram from downtown will drop you off.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“All I can say is WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This garden is amazing! so pretty and serene, relaxing. This garden must be one of the best in the country. There are waterfalls and ponds with Koi, beautiful plants and lots of interest even before the blooms of spring. Any time of year I feel you would not be sorry to visit. There are plenty of places to sit and take in the view or relax and ponder. What I enjoy about this garden is that the paths are well planned out and the garden is small enough that you don't feel overwhelmed or worn out. Bring a camera! But leave the dog and food in the car. Cost is $9.50 per adult.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our time in Portland was limited and we felt blessed to have chosen this. Serene, lovely, and relaxing. Every turn is a beautiful tableau! Lots of places to sit, enthralled. One scenic overlook of the city is a wonderful spot to photograph Mt. Hood, but I found a better spot across the street from the entrance on the other side of the tennis courts.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portland Japanese Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Japanese Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.