We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a world class Japanese garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Japanese Garden

Portland Japanese Garden
611 SW Kingston Ave, Portland, OR 97205
+1 503-223-1321
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 317 Attractions in Portland
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered the most authentic Japanese Garden outside of Japan, the Portland Japanese Garden is a haven of tranquil beauty in all seasons. Throughout the year, the Garden offers arts and culture exhibitions, festivals, educational programs, and horticultural workshops. A must-see when visiting the Pacific NW United States.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This is a world class Japanese garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Portland has one of the finest traditional Japanese gardens in the world. It is easily walkable and most of it is accessible. There is a traditional Japanese house, a pagoda, a tea house, a shinto gate, a stone reflection garden, and gorgeous mature plantings. It is also impeccably kept. It is truly a peaceful place, and people often come here just to sit. Members are allowed in early, before the gates open to the public, when it's most quiet. This garden is a real jewel, right in the middle of Portland.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,407
    436
    130
    23
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Loved everything, especially the water features. The gazebos, fountains, landscaping and design seemed authentic. Our daughter lives in Portland and I hope to return many times as we visit her. There was nothing we did not like

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Authentic and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went on a free one-hour tour at the Portland Japanese Garden. The tour guide was knowledgeable and the garden was incredibly peaceful. It's hard to believe that it was created in the US with plants that are native to the US, and feel so authentically Japanese. The garden is beautiful and a must see.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainier, Oregon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pretty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Pretty gardens but in my opinion not hardly worth the hype. These are beautiful gardens but I couldn't see why the huge fuss. It didn't seem to be worthy of the hype but that's just my opinion

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens any season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have gone to this garden many times in my life. I like the fall the best because of the maple leaves changing color.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portland Japanese Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Japanese Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.