We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 season beauty and calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Japanese Garden

Portland Japanese Garden
611 SW Kingston Ave, Portland, OR 97205
+1 503-223-1321
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 262 Attractions in Portland
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered the most authentic Japanese Garden outside of Japan, the Portland Japanese Garden is a haven of tranquil beauty in all seasons. Throughout the year, the Garden offers arts and culture exhibitions, festivals, educational programs, and horticultural workshops. A must-see when visiting the Pacific NW United States.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“4 season beauty and calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

5 acres of beauty and calm in all seasons and even all weather. Not only a "shouldn't miss" this garden should be visited again and again!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,439
    446
    132
    23
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Take time, find peace and calm !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great place to unwind, introspect, experience peace in the city. However, shuttle service inside washington park isnt great before memorial day. Public transportation is available every hour and arrives on time if you are lucky !

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The Japanese Garden in Portland is the BEST!`”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is the best Japanese garden I have seen outside of Japan. It is so beautiful and well kept. This trip the rhododendrons were in bloom and it was a nice escape from the city, but so close and easy to get to. They were doing work on the lower ponds, but there was still a lot to see. We try to visit here every time we come to Portland, which is often.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the most beautiful Japanese gardens in the country!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband and I visit Japanese gardens wherever we go and have seen our fair share of spectacular Japanese gardens in the Pacific Northwest. Portland has by far one of the most beautiful and authentic gardens we have ever seen here in the United States. On 5.5 acres, the garden has 5 themed areas which, I can imagine, have a different feel to them for every season of the year. While strolling through the garden, I couldn't help feeling like I'd been transported to a completely different world. It was a small peaceful oasis in the middle of the Washington Park area. The International Rose Test Garden (in our opinion) paled in comparison to Portland's Japanese garden.

As others have mentioned, there is a $9.50 entrance fee per adult. Parking is free, however, and not difficult to find at all on weekdays. Do note that there is a steep walk up to the garden from the parking area (which is completely worth it!!) I think in the summer months there is also a free shuttle to the garden from the parking lot to the entrance though, for those who may be unable to make the short upward trek.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, NV
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great, reflective spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Soft rain was magical. beautiful place. Male docent was very good.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portland Japanese Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Japanese Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.