We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning flowers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of International Rose Test Garden

International Rose Test Garden
400 Southwest Kingston Avenue, Portland, OR 97201
(503) 823-3636
Website
Improve this listing
Visit International Rose Test Garden like an insider
Top Rated
$75*
and up
Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #2 of 586 things to do in Portland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The oldest official, continuously operated public rose test garden in the United States boasts more than 8,000 roses.
Milwaukie, Oregon
1 review
“Stunning flowers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you can find a place to park, the Rose Garden is a must for any visitor to Portland during the rose blooming months. There is no admission cost. Plan a picnic and enjoy the sights and smells.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,172
    407
    85
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
122 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend an afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Beautiful roses, all different kinds of roses. Different colors and different smells. They also had a free concert that we sat in the grass and listened to between rose viewing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“So Beautiful... not to miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful rose gardens I have ever been at. We truly loved it and took many pics. It was such a beautiful sunny day we did not want to leave. We spent about 2 hours walking around and taking pics but could have stayed longer.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Really Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The rose garden is simply amazing and the types, colors, scents are just stunning when the roses are in bloom! It is a must see!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guntersville, alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Who would expect a rose garden in the middle of a city? Portland has it and it is beautiful. We were there in the off season and will have to return when the roses are in full bloom.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to International Rose Test Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Rose Test Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.