We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting mix of people” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Courthouse Square

Pioneer Courthouse Square
701 Southwest Sixth Avenue, Broadway between Morrison and Yamhill, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)
503-223-1613
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 262 Attractions in Portland
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: People-watching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular square in downtown Portland.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Interesting mix of people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Portland's "front porch." When I visited, there was a small fresh market going on and some entertainment. Tri-Met (public transport) had all lines come into the area. As a result, there are quite a few transients in the area, primarily the perimeter streets, not in the square itself.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    72
    32
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Portland's "Living Room"!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Although we locals mostly tend to walk on by without as much as a look, I always try to see what's going on there as there are always interesting people and/or things to do there. Festivals, protests, street musicians, tourists, performances, etc., all in the center of the city. Be sure to visit Director Park a couple of blocks SE - a great place to grab some food, read a book and watch humanity strolling by.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Common Area in the Middle of Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is definitely a place you would want to plan to go see when there is something going on. I have wanted to go to the farmers market here but have missed it on my last two visits. The Max operates on the perimeter of the square. We take the Max from the Gateway station into Pioneer Square as it is a great place to start a tour of downtown. Parking is near to impossible in downtown Portland. And there is a Starbucks right there if you want to get fired up before a walking tour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bums and slackers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Not much else to see or do here than above except for the annual beer festival which is in enclosed tents when its raining. It is worse than it sounds. If I have another 20-something ask me for money while in downtown Portland I am going to hand them a copy of the want-ads or monster.com listings. GROW UP!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“NEAT AREA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very central location with the Pioneer Courthouse on one side and coffee shops on the other side in a nice part of Portland .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer Courthouse Square also viewed

 

Been to Pioneer Courthouse Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer Courthouse Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.