We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portland Foodie Run” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 SW Oak Street, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #25 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pleasant Hill, California, Usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Portland Foodie Run”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great location right downtown. I used my Marriot points to stay here in July for two nights mid July this year. Small two queen bed room shared with my wife & daughter. Room was clean, beds were comfy, nice view of the water & bridge from the 12th floor. Many great restaurant's within walking distance. Nice gym, no pool & $32.00 a night to Valet park(ouch!)

Room Tip: Higher floors offer good views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am so glad you got a great view and had a good time while staying in Portland. I hope you choose to stay with us again soon!

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    279
    60
    9
    6
See reviews for
101
283
79
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pullman, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

After a long Portland Rose Parade day and pub crawl, the Marriott Courtyard was the perfect hotel to return to. Centrally located around many eating and bar destinations, we were easily able to meet up with friends and return to the hotel even in the midst of parade day chaos.
There are many average hotels, but this one stands out as a relaxing and welcoming place to stay. Yes, you should be out doing stuff in Portland while you are visiting, but if you want, as I did, you can relax at this Marriott. Room service was fast and tasty. I even popped myself some popcorn in the lounge and felt comfortable doing it! The room was cool and comfortable. Every interaction with the staff was friendly.
For the location and the price (especially compared to other hotels in the area and of the like) this was well worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for the amazing review. I am glad we could be your home away from home. I hope you get a chance to return again soon.

Best Regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

One of the best things about this hotel is its location in downtown Portland. Easy to walk everywhere. We stay at Marriott hotels a lot, and this Courtyard is one of the better ones we've ever stayed in. We had a corner room, and it was a little awkward for people to sit. The bathroom was huge and well lit. Very clean, attractive. We certainly will consider this hotel when we visit Portland the next time.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are a little awkward, you might want to take a look at it before you reserve it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the review. Our location is hard to beat as we are right smack in the middle of downtown Portland. I hope you were able to enjoy the floor to ceiling windows in your corner room. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Portland.

Best Regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

A nice place the stay. The rates are reasonable and the breakfast was above average. The bathroom is pretty decent and I liked the modern decor. If Portland was a regular stop, I would definitely stay here all the time. The staff was very helpful and very courteous.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the review and we hope you are able to add Portland as a regular stop!

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We recently stayed 2 nights at this hotel in downtown Portland. I have lived here for over 30 years and wasn't aware of this hotel. I'm glad I found out about it now.
The hotel is located between the two main transit streets downtown, making getting on public transit very easy. It's also located within walking distance of just about everything in downtown.
The hotel is a "courtyard" in name only since it doesn't have any outdoor space, but that was not an issue.
The hotel has nicely furnished rooms, lacking only a foot stool to make the sitting areas more comfortable. Free Wi-Fi was nice, and the room was very quiet. As is common in most of the high-rise hotels, the window didn't open and the AC struggled to cool the room as much as I like it. That was the only negative.
The hotel has an associated restaurant called The Original. It bills itself as a "dinerant" which is a term new to us: a cross between a "diner" and "restaurant." We ate 3 meals there and the food was very good and the prices reasonable.
The main reason I chose this hotel was that it was at least $75 cheaper than comparable hotels in the area. We were very pleased with our stay and would recommend this hotel to both travelers or business people looking for a convenient downtown hotel.

Room Tip: the higher the better to get a view of Portland buildings and bridges
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review. A small secret on property is that we do have an actual Courtyard in the very center of our building. Just ask the front desk and they will show you the way so that you are able to enjoy some time outdoors without the craziness of city life around you.

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great location walkable to many restaurants and food trucks. This is billed as a "boutique" Courtyard, but it feels more like a regular Marriott. We had a corner room with 2 queens, which had plenty of room. There was a small fridge in the room. There was a good workout room equipped with some free weights and cardio machines, but there is no pool in this hotel. Valet parking was $30/night. Room was clean on arrival, but they did not service the room after our first night.

Room Tip: Corner room on upper floor will give you the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We strive to not be the typical Courtyard and hope that it shows. We look forward to having you stay again the next time you are in Portland.

Best Regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The courtyard is in a perfect location. Close to everything downtown, popular food trucks and public transportation. An easy walk to any neighborhood.

Hotel employees very helpful in suggesting places for dinner. Quick to respond, forgot shower cap , called and had one in 5 minutes.

Very nice room. Restaurant on premises Zagat rated, however didn't try as there are so many wonderful eateries.

Hotel easily accessible by light rail from airport. One dollar for a two hour ticket or $5 for an all day pass.

Room Tip: Great view of the city from the 16th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a 5 star review. We hope the next time you visit Portland you also get to try the amazing brunch at The Original.

Best ,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Address: 550 SW Oak Street, Portland, OR 97204
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#17 Business Hotel in Portland
#17 Family Hotel in Portland
#21 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland
Courtyard Portland City Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.