We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location! pet friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 SW Oak Street, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #22 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great location! pet friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

the room and hotel look really nice, its an eco friendly place (i liked seeing what that looks like fused with contemporary design) and its noticeable which i thought was cool, super comfy bed the best part is the location you can walk everywhere from here. the staff are super friendly!!!
cons:
no lotion ( it wouldn't have mattered had i not forgotten to pack mine)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and staying with us. I like that you think our hotel is cool and super comfy and that the staff is super friendly too!

Sounds like we will see you again the next time you are in Portland.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    244
    52
    9
    5
See reviews for
91
257
74
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed here for three nights while attending a conference. The conference was at the Oregon Convention Center which is about a mile away and (I think, not sure) not easily walkable, but this was a much better location to be based in. The hotel room was fine, unmemorable - a little smaller and more sparsely furnished than other Courtyards I've stayed at, but not in any problematic way. My one criticism is that my room had one small window in a corner looking out on basically nothing. I suspect other rooms had better views. I wouldn't want to stay in such a room, based on the bad view, for a more extended period not involving what was basically a conference trip. Someone afflicted with claustrophobia (or really needing to have natural light) will either want to stay elsewhere or will be careful about which room to ask for.

Overall, I would consider staying here again, even if I were again to travel primarily to attend a conference at the Convention Center. It is only 5 blocks from the Red line MAX, which is very convenient. It looked like there were many good food options in the vicinity though I didn't take advantage of any. I suppose it is a bit pricey for the room I got, given the size of the room and the near-absence of any natural light.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have tiny corner windows with no view and hardly any natural light coming through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for the review. I am happy to hear that you will consider staying with us again given you were given a smaller room. We do have a few smaller rooms, but the majority of are rooms are spacious and well appointed. Hope to see you soon!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend getaway in the summer on our first trip exploring Portland.

We wanted to use our Marriott Rewards points and we were so glad we chose this location! It is very clean and nicely decorated--it must have been renovated fairly recently because I didn't even notice a scratch on the furniture, scuffs on the walls, or cracked grout in the bathroom. We had a beautiful, large-ish, corner room with a peak of the river on the 14th floor! The room was mostly quite, tho' we did occasionally hear our heavy-footed neighbor above us.

The staff were very friendly & we appreciated the free wi-fi, in-room refrigerator, in-room recycle bins, and complimentary morning Stumptown coffee in the lobby.

The location was perfect for us. We didn't need a car, at all. We took MAX from the airport, rented bikes for a few hours (Waterfront Cycles), took MAX to the Zoo & walked everywhere else (Food trucks, Saturday Market, VooDoo dounts, Powell's Bookstore, Pioneer Square...).

Didn't try the fitness center or restaurant , but they seemed nice.

Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone wanting to be in this part of downtown Portland.

Room Tip: 1405 was a nice room with a peak of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for the 5 Star review. I am please you had such a nice experience with us and that you enjoyed our hotel and location. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Portland.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend in September for a weekend. It was very nice, clean, with friendly staff. It was conveniently located walking distance to EVERYTHING. Everything else was a MAX ride away. The Original downstairs had good food and even better cocktails. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you will absolutely stay here again. See you soon!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for business during a week when rooms in downtown Portland were not to be had. Although I had to leave after two nights because of the hotel being completely booked prior to my reservation, I returned one night later, and was assigned an upgraded room.
WOW! Corner room, with floor to ceiling windows, and even a window in the bathroom.
Beautiful furnishings, roomy and not cluttered, and comfortable beyond belief.
Great value for downtown Portland, short walk to many restaurants, including the famous block of food wagons, warm and welcoming staff.
Loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a NW corner room if it is available.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle bins in the bathroom, card to encourage towel re-use.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for the 5 Star review. I love that you had a great experience with us. I am happy that you were able to stay in one of our corner king rooms, they do rock and you can't beat the views.

Hope you come stay with us again!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed 4 nights for business the 2 with points and certificates. Outstanding location, walkable distance to several food cart pods, the Pearl District, etc. parked a car using the valet service for the business portion, and the service was fantastic - prompt and very friendly. They suggested several places to eat, but the Original on site was great. We ate there for breakfast Sunday morning. Room was spacious with fridge and large bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We love 5 Star reviews, thank you! I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel, the restaurant, the staff and the location. We are glad that you stayed with us and hope that you return soon!


Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I am going to start by stating my one and only complaint, then I'll get to the positives. This place is massively over-priced! The only thing about this hotel that could even come close to warranting their pricing of $300/night is the location. Other than that, it is the same as many Courtyard's I have strayed at for around $150. Maybe I am ignorant and perhaps $300/night is simply the "going rate" around here, but it felt way too high to me for this hotel. Yes, it has a prime location near all the best Downtown Portland attractions, but other than that, it was just a regular Courtyard hotel(not that that's a bad thing). The rooms are modern and clean, the lobby is pleasing to the eye and relaxing, and the staff is friendly. We enjoyed our room and our view from it. The bottom line, however, is this place simply is fancy enough and over-the-top enough to charge what they do. I think the plan next time will be to stay a little bit further away for half the price or if I do spend $300/night, I will look for a fancier place further away, so that I get more "bang" for my buck.

Room Tip: Higher floor = better view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Felt like a very "green" hotel, at least from my observations.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and the location. The summer months here in Portland are our high demand periods and yes, you will find that rates are higher in the city. Typically, we are still priced equal to or lower than most hotels in the downtown market. I hope that you come see us again!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Address: 550 SW Oak Street, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#19 Family Hotel in Portland
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland
Courtyard Portland City Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.