We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 SW Oak Street, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #22 of 133 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean hotel and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a great hotel that helped make my time in Portland absolutely wonderful. I got there early and was able to check in without a problem. The staff is extremely friendly and the location is great. Close to multiple MAX lines (including the Airport line) and within walking distance to places like Powell's and other shopping. There are great food trucks close by as well. As a runner I loved being so close to the river so that I could get my day started with a scenic run. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Portland!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your 5 Star review, We LOVE them! I am pleased that we were able to make your stay wonderful and that the staff was friendly. The run on the river is the best! Glad to know that we will see you again!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    250
    54
    9
    5
See reviews for
95
263
75
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
work
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Overall, the hotel was clean. We stayed in a room with 1 king bed and it was a good enough size for the 2 of us. I'd say the walls might be a little thin as we had some loud people on our floor in the middle of the night and it sounded like they were in the room. However, someone from the hotel showed up to quiet them. Hotel was close to many downtown restaurants and attractions. It would be nice if they offered a non-valet parking option. Also - check your bill, we had an erroneous charge which we are currently waiting on to be reversed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. We do have other opitons other than valet parking service at our hotel. There are many parking lots close by, however they don't have in and out privileges with out an extra fee. We offer in and out privileges for the one over night fee. Being a downtown hotel, parking is always limited as in most cities. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This Courtyard Marriott is in a great downtown location, walking distance to such essential Portland places like Voodoo Donuts and Courier Coffee, as well as the Broadway shopping district. The hotel feels new and clean, the staff is very friendly and efficient. My room was spotless, very comfortable and quiet. Can't go wrong with staying here and as a matter of fact, I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed our location, the hotel and the staff. Sounds like we will see you again. Looking forward to it!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Staying @ the Courtyard Portland City Center is a treat and a bargain. The hotel is immaculate.
The staff is always available and incredibly helpful. The food's delicious. AND you can walk to Powell's Bookstore.
I'll stay here again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for the 5 Star review! We love that you think we are the best. I am pleased to know that you had a great stay, from your room to the helpful and friendly staff. Hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel Springs, NJ
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter & I recently stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center. We were impressed by the hotel's very convenient, central location and by the cleanliness of the hotel and rooms. Absolutely spotless! The staff was friendly, and the central location made it easy to walk to many attractions, such as Saturday Market, Pioneer Square, VooDoo Donuts and Powell's Book Store. The hotel offers complimentary high-speed Internet in guest rooms, an on-site fitness center and even a very convenient mini-convenience store in the lobby, selling toilletries and snacks. Right around the corner is the location of Portland's famous food trucks offering delicious and unusual snacks or lunch. The on-site restaurant, The Original, serves delicious food (we had breakfast 2x) and has a trendy bar where we enjoyed a drink with friends. Next trip to Portland, I definitely plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We loved reading your 5 Star review. I am pleased that you had such a great stay with us. Sounds like we will see you the next time you are in Portland.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Check in was efficient, room was nice and clean to typical marriott standards.

Hotel gym on the 3rd floor was much better than most and the location is outstanding, close to many thing as well as the light rail. Quality of hotel is actually much better than the full marriott down the street.

Only downside is the connected restaurant, a nearly 24 hour diner. Food there was well below average and overpriced. Not expecting great things, but an all night diner should at least be able to cook eggs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. Overall sounds like you had a great stay with us. Sorry, our restaurant did not meet your expectations. It is not a norm for us. Our restuarant is a favorite of most our guest and is a local favorite as well. I passed your comments onto the chef to ensure the quality standards are being met. We hope to see you again.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were in town for a romantic weekend and enjoyed the location and room. It was easy to get there by taking the Max Light Rail from the airport. We stayed on the top floor and it was everything we expected and more from a Courtyard. We will stay here again on the next trip to Portland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for the 5 Star review, more importantly, I am pleased that you had a great romantic get away with us. See you next time!


Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Address: 550 SW Oak Street, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#18 Family Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Spa Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland
Courtyard Portland City Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.