We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most Courtyards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 SW Oak Street, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #23 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better than most Courtyards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very modern, like a boutique hotel. Fantastic workout room for a Courtyard. Very good location. Easy to get to Pearl Dist. Close to Voodoo donuts too. Valet is expensive but all hotels there are - $30 a day. Not many options to self park. Easy to get around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We like that you think we are better than most Courtyard's and noticed our boutique style hotel. Thank you, we work hard at it. We hope that you stay with us again in the near future.


Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    310
    66
    11
    6
See reviews for
113
301
83
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Typical Marriott property & with the fantastic service that I always get. Lots of car hops & front desk assistance ( plus concierge ) greet you at the front door with big smiles, The lobby features free coffee & free newspapers plus a refreshment area (pay drinks ie beer, sandwiches etc).
The rooms are very new and again employ the signature Marroitt colors of soft browns & oranges. Very comforatble beds with free wifi, big flatscreen TV& lots of room in the standard room. No problem to remove the feather pillows.
The best is location / location. This downtown property is conventient to everything in the business district as well as great taverns, restaurants, museums etc. And we got here via the MAX train from the airport (for $5) with a 5 minute walk to 5th/Oak. No real need for a car.
First time in Portland as a tourist & the front desk is really helpful. Even drop them an email in advance & they can advise you what attractions are open & make recommendations.
Definately a referal to stay here.

Safe landings Mike N
Ps Any questions drop me a note. Was this helpful?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for the nice review and a referral to all. We appreciate it. I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and that you had a nice stay with us. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Portland.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was my first time at the Marriott Courtyard downtown. It felt more like a full service Marriott than a Courtyard. This hotel has everything you need and is in a great location to shopping, restaurants and night life. The restaurant nextdoor has a great breakfast menu.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Nice review, thank you! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and our location. We are not a typical Courtyard, we do have the full service amenities to offer to our guest. We hope that you come back and stay with us!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We brought our bicycles for this trip and it was very easy to get across the bridge from the hotel in order to explore some new neighborhoods. Staff was very accommodating in accompanying us to access our bikes from the safe storage area in the garage. Nice modern decor in room, comfortable bed and large shower; it definitely does not feel like a typical chain hotel. An easy walk at night to some fun bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for the nice review, we appreciate it. I am please that you had such a nice experience with us. Everything you mentioned, is what we work hard on achieving. The modern decor, the comfortable beds. Yes, we have a bike garage in our garage for safe keeping. We hope that you choose us again the next time you are in Portland.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center for two nights in October, 2012. It was our first time in Portland, and staying at this central location made it easy to get acquainted with the city on foot. The receptionist at the hotel was very friendly and immediately got out a map and started to suggest things for us to do and see while in town. The check-in itself was very quick, and the room was great: very spacious, with all the amenities we could ask for (large flat-screen TV, fridge, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, free wi-fi). The bathroom was also spacious and sparkling clean, stocked with high-class toiletries and lots of fluffy towels. The king-sized bed was very comfortable. The room was also very quiet; we heard absolutely nothing from adjoining rooms or from people in the hallway. We were also not bothered by outside noise, even though we were not on a very high floor. We had breakfast in the restaurant on one of the days we were there, and enjoyed it very much. On the day we checked out, we asked to leave our suitcases in the hotel for a few hours, since we were taking the train in the afternoon. The receptionist immediately took our luggage to the luggage room, with a smile. When we came back later, we asked if we could sit for a while in the lobby until it was time for us to leave, and again - no problem, and everything was taken care of with a smile. We walked to the Amtrak station from the hotel, which was very convenient.
All in all, we were very satisfied with the Couryard by Marriott and would recommend it to anyone wishing to visit Portland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for the nice 5 Star rating. We love them! I am happy that you had such a great stay with us. We really appreciate the recommendation to anyone coming to Portland! Hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was in a good location in downtown Portland. Within walking distance to the Pearl District and just a few blocks from Voo Doo Donuts. The rooms were clean and large for this type of hotel. The beds had very nice mattresses and the linens were newer. Shampoo/Conditioner was Paul Mitchell ... a nice change from the traditional Marriott shampoos. The Lobby was well appointed. There was a small convenience store style area for buying basic beverages and snacks in the lobby. A restaurant was adjacent to the hotel lobby. The workout facility was quite large for a traditional Courtyard. Plenty of newer cardio equipment, weights and large space with windows. We had a room with two beds and they were Queen sized vs. full, which was since there were three of us in the room.

Room Tip: Our room was on an upper floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for the 5 Star rating. It always makes our day. I am please you enjoyed our hotel and our location. We hope to see you again the next time you come to Portland.


Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. I was there for a convention and it was perfect. Close to almost everything. We walked everywhere. Can't wait to go back!!!!!!!! My husband liked the fitness room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for the 5 Star review, we LOVE them! I am please you had such a great time at our hotel. We cant wait until you do come back. Until next time!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Address: 550 SW Oak Street, Portland, OR 97204
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#18 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Family Hotel in Portland
#24 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland
Courtyard Portland City Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.