We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Great Beds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 SW Oak Street, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #24 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good location, Great Beds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was in a good location in downtown Portland. Within walking distance to the Pearl District and just a few blocks from Voo Doo Donuts. The rooms were clean and large for this type of hotel. The beds had very nice mattresses and the linens were newer. Shampoo/Conditioner was Paul Mitchell ... a nice change from the traditional Marriott shampoos. The Lobby was well appointed. There was a small convenience store style area for buying basic beverages and snacks in the lobby. A restaurant was adjacent to the hotel lobby. The workout facility was quite large for a traditional Courtyard. Plenty of newer cardio equipment, weights and large space with windows. We had a room with two beds and they were Queen sized vs. full, which was since there were three of us in the room.

Room Tip: Our room was on an upper floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for the 5 Star rating. It always makes our day. I am please you enjoyed our hotel and our location. We hope to see you again the next time you come to Portland.


Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    272
    60
    9
    6
See reviews for
97
279
78
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. I was there for a convention and it was perfect. Close to almost everything. We walked everywhere. Can't wait to go back!!!!!!!! My husband liked the fitness room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for the 5 Star review, we LOVE them! I am please you had such a great time at our hotel. We cant wait until you do come back. Until next time!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Don't be discouraged by my 4 stars instead of 5, it has to be incredible for me to rate that. This being said, I really like this hotel; even though we live nearby we still come into town every now and then and usually stay here. We had a corner room this time, which was quite spacious, nice views, big bath, good amenities. The rooms all have refrigerators, which I really like, hi-def big screen TV's and free internet, a big bonus. They are also very environmentally conscious with recycling bins and biodegradable products.

My only down side comments are pretty much the same as last time; $30 to park your car for the night even when you're a guest and the fact that even though the rooms are made for two, they give you only one packet of coffee. Come on people, this is a really minor expense in terms of your other costs; if there's two people in the room, you give two cups, provide two coffees!

Room Tip: Lots of local attractions all around this hotel. Be sure to visit Portland City Grill across the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. I am pleased that you liked our hotel enough to continue to stay with us. The corner rooms are great and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure to share this review with our housekeeping department. There should be enough coffee for two people in each room. See you next time.

Best,


Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times now for business, and I am booked here for my upcoming trip in late November. I continue to stay here due to it's convenient location, more modern feel, and large fitness center. I have previously booked at Hotel Lucia and the Westin, with both being nice hotels, but the Courtyard has the edge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. I love that we have the edge over some of the other hotels that you stayed at in Portland. We will be happy to see you again when you return later this month.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here the night before and after the Portland Marathon. My husband was running in the marathon and we wanted to be at a convenient location. The rooms are beautiful at this hotel, very minimalist and eclectic. The bed was so comfy, wish there were better pillows. The check in was simple. I was a bit disappointed with the price of parking. It seemed a bit extreme but having your car brought to you for any event was convenient. The restaurant was pretty good, met our needs for a late breakfast on check out day. Overall, we would stay here again if we find ourselves in need of a downtown Portland hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. We appreciate it. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were clean and had a great view. Staying here puts you close to public transit and also the Pearl District. I found it to be slightly cheaper than other hotels a few blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We love that you gave us a 5 Star review, thank you! I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and the room. We hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Very different from regular courtyards. Appointments are very nice, corner room is AMAZING! Location is fantastic, you can take the train from the airport and walk or use public transportation everywhere. Staff is so nice and friendly. We are already planning our next trip back here!

Room Tip: If you can get a corner room that is all glass you will be soooo happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for the 5 Star rating, we appreciate it. I am pleased that you liked our location, the corner room and our friendly staff. I am also happy to know that you will be back!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Address: 550 SW Oak Street, Portland, OR 97204
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#16 Business Hotel in Portland
#18 Family Hotel in Portland
#23 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland
Courtyard Portland City Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.