We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oregon Museum of Science and Industry

Oregon Museum of Science and Industry
1945 SE Water Avenue, Portland, OR 97214
503-797-6674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 307 attractions in Portland
Type: Science Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This museum contains an extensive collection of fossils found in the Gobi desert.
Independence, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

There are so many fun educational activities for every age. My children love to visit OMSI when ever we are in the area. We loved the tesla coil experiments in the Physics Lab and the Children's Science Playground is also a favorite area. We were sad that we arrived after the Chemistry Lab was closed for the day. It is also a favorite place to have fun (I mean learn). The kids learn so much while having fun! My kids are 10, 7, 5, and 1. I could spend a day here by myself because there are so many fascinating things to do.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    172
    62
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Silverton, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“IMAX movie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We did not end up going to the museum because we didn't have time so we went to the IMAX movie.It was great you felt like you were actually at where the movie was filmed. It was completely worth it and recommend it for all ages.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing museum, lousy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We've been members for years. Love all the exhibits. The restaurant remodels every few years. They STILL haven't figured out the right recipe. It appears fairly fancy, but the 2 soups, grilled cheese, and brat were all nearly inedible. Homemade chips and potato salad were good.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sherlock Holmes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

4 adults went to the Sherlock Holmes exhibit. Fun time going through all the exhibits (various crime solving areas). Engaging, yet we all decided slightly confusing. The kids we passed seemed to be very engaged. It was exceedingly cold outside so we did not do anything but this one exhibit. Would recommend to families or those young at heart

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Went to the movies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We decided to take in a BIG-screen movie while we were in town. Were very pleased that there was no parking charge if you were going just for the movie. This is a great place for the whole family. A little weird to be under the multi-layered bridge; very noisy outside, but not inside.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Museum of Science and Industry also viewed

 

Been to Oregon Museum of Science and Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oregon Museum of Science and Industry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oregon Museum of Science and Industry to your Saves list