We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oregon Museum of Science and Industry

Oregon Museum of Science and Industry
1945 SE Water Avenue, Portland, OR 97214
503-797-6674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 586 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This museum contains an extensive collection of fossils found in the Gobi desert.
South Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Everyone loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We visited OMSI with four adults, a 12 year old, a 13 year old, a 9 year old and an 8 year old. Everyone found something to love about it. We all especially enjoyed touring the submarine. That was actually more popular with my crowd than the Deep Sea movie was. The tour guide was great, interested in engaging the kids as well as the adults. I recommend it.

We saw the mummy exhibit, too. Fascinating but some of us were a little 'freaked out' by it. It's very vivid and all real. It was a bit upsetting to realize that these were the actual mummified remains of real people. But for those who are interested, it was an extremely good exhibit.

Plan on spending a few hours at OMSI when you visit Portland. It was worth it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    222
    81
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, FL
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“See an IMAX movie or planetarium shows for relaxing way to end the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is one of the largest science museums in the nation, and we went three days in a row to see IMAX movies, a planetarium show and tour the museum and submarine and the special exhibit on Mummies. We are two older parents with a teenager and preschooler along for this trip and we all enjoyed it! It was a relaxing way to end the day after sightseeing elsewhere by seeing an IMAX movie or planetarium show (they offer 4-6 different kinds of each). See the Mummy movie before you go to the exhibit to get a better understanding of it. Our preschooler enjoyed the science exhibits while I admired the photography exhibit upstairs. All of us appreciated both the mummy exhibit as well as the prenatal one. There was an additional price for the 50 minute submarine tour, but it was well worth it, and the tour guide was very informed. Make sure you all use the bathroom, if needed, before the sub tour and any shows as they do not allow re-entry. They offer military discounts for many of the shows, if you don't get the package deal. One day we arrived at 11 am and my husband had to leave in the afternoon at 3, so the kids and I stayed until 7 PM and took a cab back to a downtown hotel for just $9. They are open til 7 PM in the summer and 5 PM in the winter, and they were extremely crowded from 12-3 (long waits outside the blg), but the crowds thinned out substantially in the late afternoon. Remember your parking space number to pay for the $4 parking fee which is waived for military. They change the exhibits frequently, and if we lived here, we would have bought a family membership!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incomplete exhibit.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Nowhere was the Creation mentioned or described. Disappointingly narrow theme that science explains and governs all. Some exhibits were very unique but overall not a world class facility. Entertaining.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fun with Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The sub tour was the highlight of our trip there. Imax was also OK, standard Imax experience. It used to feel cleaner, but with millions of kids running around I suppose they can only keep it so clean. The museum was fun, had great interactive displays for kids.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great treasures await”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We saw the Mummy exhibit and not just Egyptian Mummies. One child was 6500 years old and well preserved. The IMAX has a nice mix of movies and gives you a break from walking. Museum is great for small children.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Museum of Science and Industry also viewed

 

Been to Oregon Museum of Science and Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oregon Museum of Science and Industry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.