We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice displays on area history” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oregon Museum of Science and Industry

Oregon Museum of Science and Industry
1945 SE Water Avenue, Portland, OR 97214
503-797-6674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 586 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This museum contains an extensive collection of fossils found in the Gobi desert.
new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice displays on area history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you need to fill up some time this is a good stop to learn about Oregon history. The displays are well done. It was filled with kids when we were there and they did not accommodate for paying customers (move out of the way) so we were climbing around kids for most of our visit. Would have been nice for the ticket person to have given us the option to return later in the day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    222
    81
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Laser Lights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Pink Floyd laser light show is pretty sweet. Not sure if they're still doing that, but if they are hit it up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful place for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We live in Portland and OMSI is a place that we fortunately can visit several times a year for special events and exhibits. This is a great place for all ages.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldspring, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Visit the Blueback”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We only purpose today was to visit the Blueback.Our guide Don was very knowledgeable and fun to talk to. Even our 15yr old daughter was interested.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not Just A Children's Museum But Child is Spoken!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a very hands on and diverse museum. We took advantage of the OMNI-MAX theater. The exhibits in the OMSI are well thought out and very hands on. Crowds were a bit thick in the late afternoon.
It was a bit difficult to find as the recommended Mapquest map showed a Main Street Sign which was very small and there are not many OMSI signs to direct out of town visitors to this great venue. I would recommend going in the morning, if possible. A few of the exhibits were getting tired by the late afternoon.
I think a visit to the submarine would be fun. I understand that overnight bookings for small groups to sleepover can be featured in this unique setting.
Staff at the desk are very helpful to give return directions to out of the area visitors.
One does need to pay to park here, so note your place number when parking. Adequate handicapped parking, although still a long walk to interior. Elevator and escalator provide good floor to floor transport in the interior.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Museum of Science and Industry also viewed

 

Been to Oregon Museum of Science and Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oregon Museum of Science and Industry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.