We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you pay is what you get.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205

Save Saved
You added Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9699 SE Stark Street, Portland, OR 97216   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 132 Hotels in Portland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What you pay is what you get.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This place is exactly what the price entails. Drug and prostitute establishment. Just one block down from a strip club. Shady individuals in and out. Perfect. The room was cleanish. Good location near interstate. Continental breakfast of packaged danishs. Tiny televisions

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    10
    6
    9
See reviews for
9
10
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, OR
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had a great stay at the Chestnut Tree Inn. All of the staff that we interacted with were incredibly friendly. The location is very convenient with plenty of restaurants in walking distance, and it's right on the I-205/I-84 interchange, so getting anywhere into Portland was a breeze. The price was right, especially for a weekend stay. Got into town plenty early of the check-in time, but was still able to get my room right away. The bed/pillows were not the most comfortable in the world, but not the worst either. The room was a good size, but could have been laid out a little better. Had a fridge in the room, but no microwave. Had to go to the lobby to re-heat food. Provided breakfast was pretty standard, oatmeal, muffins, and pastries. Coffee is served all day though which is nice. Overall, a good experience. I will definitely consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed two nights at the chestnut tree inn. We were looking for a value priced motel, and that's what we got. It was satisfactory on all counts. It was easy to find, right off the freeway, and the traffic noise was audible, though not enough to complain about. The place was satisfactorily clean, but had a "smell". It was easy to get to downtown Portland, but there wasn't much in the way of attractions in the immediate vicinity. A minimal breakfast was provided, including coffee, some kind of juice, packaged sweet rolls, and instant porridge. The staff answered our questions. Towels were clean, and replaced after one day. They say you get what you pay for, and this inn follows that adage. If all you want is a satisfactory place to stay while visiting Portland, this.could be it!

Room Tip: All rooms face the same way. We had a second floor room, so had to carry belongings up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

when we pulled up the hotel did not look attractive on the outside. I had a hard time going in but we ended up checking anyway. The first room we had smelled like smoke then they immediately moved us to an upstairs room. For the price of the hotel the breakfast was what years and getting school breakfast is in the morning they could've had a better continental breakfast it is included. Although the the all though the staff was highly courteous and always printing directions around town and how to get around. The rooms are very spacious and bigger than then the normal hotels and the quiet roomy anf yet they had a flat screen TV my husband enjoyed. I would stay there again for the service of the girls gave me above and beyond.but I would not stay there for the price the hotel into some improvements and if that was done I would be glad to stay for a cheaper price. But it wasn't a very convenient location to get to things around town.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Our room was not ready by 3pm like it should of been. Water pressure and temperature were terrible when showering. Breakfast is nothing but packaged Sweet rolls. Fruit that is old. Wouldn't recommend! Beds are terrible.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here late September of last year while heading back to Canada from a very long road trip. The weather was cold and we were tired of camping in the frost so we jumped online as we were heading into Portland and checked out rates for nearby hotels.
The Chestnut Tree Inn has great rates, it is easy to find, close to restaurants, and the rooms were spacious, quiet, clean and comfortable. Exactly what we needed after nearly three weeks on the road.
I would definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here on a week night and it was not only inexpensive ($68 including tax) it was so clean, quiet, and everything was updated. A fridge and microwave in the room was a plus. Very close to Lloyd Center. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205

Address: 9699 SE Stark Street, Portland, OR 97216
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Spa Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chestnut Tree Inn Portland offers a free continental breakfast with packaged danishes, juices, coffee and tea, free wireless internet, a business center, guest laundry, free parking, and pets are welcome with additional charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205 South Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.