We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimum standard” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205 to your Saves list
Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9699 SE Stark Street, Portland, OR 97216   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Minimum standard”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Room was large but that is about the only positive thing to say here. It was not properly cleaned and in general it was a "sleazy" experience. Everything was old and in desperate need of an upgrade. Free wifi was fast though! Some of the other guests made us feel a bit uncomfortable upon arrival. We just stayed in our room behind closed and locked doors until it was time to leave the next morning. Complimentary breakfast apalling.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    10
    6
    12
See reviews for
10
11
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I requested a non smoking room. the room was worse than a ashtray. I complained so they changed my room. the sheets had holes. the toilet paper was half used. No signed of the toilet been desinfected. On tv just a few chennels. And the Cherry of the cake: in the morning even with the no disturb please. a cleaning lady opened my door finding me half naked. took her like 10 seconds to close the door. And when.I complained at the front.desk the lady was so weird. she just said must have been a mistake. no apologize or anything. horribleeee never again staying there

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights--wanted a quick inexpensive get away--and that's what we got. Location was fine for us once we figured out the one-way streets nearby with on/off ramps to freeway 205 nearby. Although we booked this through Priceline "near the airport", it was actually about 15 minutes away and I don't think it had a shuttle. (Since we weren't flying, that wasn't a factor).

As other reviewers have noted, this is an older property which has a ways to go before it deserves fully the 2 stars. We requested an upstairs quiet room above the office which was fine.

Positives: Girl at the front desk and woman manager were nice and helpful. Room was clean, air conditioner and fan worked well, consistent water pressure in the shower (old fixtures), and nice to have a real refrigerator. Looks like decor has been partly upgraded (granite in shower, interesting pictures, head board.... Good large and heavy bath towels. Free Wi-Fi worked well.

Close to 205 Mall (several decent restaurants including Olive Garden, Portland Seafood Company, Red Robin and others in the area with a large Target among other tenants).

Negatives: The other reviews got it right--old, worn, bedspread which was not clean with cigarette-burns and blankets with black smudges on them (although they seemed clean). I took the original bedspread to the office and the woman on duty swapped it (looked nicer and cleaner but had numerous cigarette holes in it too though they didn't show on the right side due to the dark design). Missing pillowslips? Thankfully, linens were clean although old and thin, otherwise we probably would have left in spite of prepaying.

(Of course, we couldn't read the reviews because we had used Priceline and didn't know what property we'd get.) Our daughters were horrified we'd booked a $50 motel room and frankly we'll go back to 3 star chain hotels or higher the next time.

No sliding security bolt (holes were there), but the door lock seemed OK. Stopper missing in sink.

"Breakfast" was bare bones--coffee, cellophane-wrapped sweet rolls, sickly apples and apple or orange juice. They should say "continental". TV was old and definitely not flat screen.

Suggestions for owners/managers: Just getting better bedspreads and blankets would do a lot--phase them in over time if cost is a factor. This pretty much is a distressed property but it could be better. The employees at least do the best with what they have.

Room Tip: Be careful to avoid ground floor rooms near where smokers congregate, which can also be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a somewhat "bare bones" operation. Other than free WiFi and a room refrigerator, there are no amenities or services. What you get is a room. My room was very clean and comfortable. I was looking to save money, and this worked out very well for me. It's located across the road from a large strip mall, where I was able to find very fine food an shopping opportunities. Should I return to Portland, I will attempt to secure a room there.

Room Tip: Get there as early as you can, so that you may secure a room in a location where you would like to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

.....on the way to my vacation destination I had a good experience staying at the Chestnut Tree Inn. The lady at the front desk was friendly and assertive with checking me in. My room was just right, It was clean and spacious. The Wi-Fi worked great. I driving through Portland, the Chestnut Tree Inn was convienently located off the 205 freeway that I was traveling on to get to my vacation destination. It was quiet and relaxing, while I was watching cable tv. Til I fell aslep and the tv was watchiingerng me.( lol).
The rate was just right for the atmosphere, rate, customer service and location.
Thank you Chestnut Tree Inn staff. I will be returning and telling others to stay here!
~J-Dubb

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA/Tuscany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Room was disgusting. Cigarette holes in comforter. Threadbare sheets. Furnishings looked like garage sale finds from the eighties. Nonsmoking room reeked of smoke to the point of making my eyes and throat burn. Room was not cleaned or serviced in any way after day one of our two night stay. Will never go to a non chain motel again. Live and learn.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

1. Horrible front desk service 2.Rude/No privacy w/ the House Keepers 3. Nasty Rooms 4.THIN walls. that is all. the only thing that was good about this hotel was the location. it was close enough to where we needed to go.

Room Tip: Go a crossed the way and you will avoid everything I just named.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205

Address: 9699 SE Stark Street, Portland, OR 97216
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chestnut Tree Inn Portland offers a free continental breakfast with packaged danishes, juices, coffee and tea, free wireless internet, a business center, guest laundry, free parking, and pets are welcome with additional charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205 South Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.