We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change from taking 2 hour trip to coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   909 N. Hayden Island Drive, Portland, OR 97217 (Formerly Doubletree)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice change from taking 2 hour trip to coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I take 3 night getaways every month. Since water views are so relaxing, we usually opt for the coast. This time, we decided to forego the long drive and find a hotel with a water view in Portland. The Red Lion at Jantzen Beach turned out to be a beautiful choice.

We chose a junior suite this time - but as we were passing a standard king that a housekeeper was servicing, we noticed that it was very large compared to some we have stayed in. So when we are feeling more thrifty, we will definitely reserve one of those rooms...(we just hope the bed will be as comfortable as the one in the suite). The view of the river from the restaurant is wonderful and the food is very good.

Room Tip: River view - 2nd, 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    218
    85
    45
    27
See reviews for
156
135
36
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I recently spent a week at Red Lion Jantzen Beach for a conference and then some down time. The rooms were spotless, the beds very comfortable and the view out of my room of the pool and river was divine, but what really made the stay great was the staff! Everyone there was friendly and said hello when they passed you. Thomas the shuttle driver offered some great ideas on places to go and took us to /from the MAX transit system. It costs $5 a day and you can get all over Portland with out having to drive and park. Jenny at the front desk was funny and very helpful; and the bartender Ivy makes great drinks with super service too! I will definitely be staying there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the pool and river. It was quiet and the view was refreshing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Enjoyed our stay very much. The beds were very comfy. We didn't pass an employee in the halls who didn't greet us. Breakfast was very good and the service in the restaurant was also excellent. I had a late breakfast and they had just finished a pot of hot chocolate and had to spend some time finding another package of cocoa to make a new pot, all for me. They kept me informed on what I'm calling the "cocoa crisis" and offered to bring me another drink while I waited. It was very sweet.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I visit Portland once a year for and always stay at the Red Lion, Jantzen Beach. I have never been disappointed with any aspect of my stay. The rooms are spotless and the beds are comfortable. This is a grand property that has been well maintained and decor is up to date. Easy access to I-5 but it feels like it is no where near the freeway. The food in the restaurant is tasty and priced right. If you do not need to stay downtown give this a try, I did and I have been coming back for the last five years.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the window facing North. You will have a lovely view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We decided to stay on the outskirts of Portland because staying downtown was too expensive and really you don't miss staying right downtown much. Portland is pretty easy to maneuver a car and find parking so staying in the outskirts is not really a big deal. The hotel sits right on the water with a gorgeous walkway which is great for walking the dogs. We stayed in the corner fireplace suite which had a bedroom with two double beds and a living area with a murphy bed and fireplace. There was a fridge in the room. We accidentally jammed something in the safe, and maintenance was in our room within minutes. We had a great stay and on Friday nights, their nightclub looked like it was hopping. Next time I think we'll have to take a trip without kids just to go to the nightclub.

Room Tip: Corner Fireplace suites are worth it if you have a family and want a little privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Red Lion on the River was wonderful! We were there for a wine conference. For one thing, it's rare that you get fabulous food at a hotel and even less so at a conference. The meals at the conference were oh-so-delicious, and the breakfasts in the cafe were especially good (I had the granola one day--how often do you get something that's so tasty that you think "there's no way it's healthy!" This place does it. The staff was outstanding: all the conference staff (how DO they turnaround a couple of THOUSAND wine glasses every couple of hours?), the front desk, the cleaning staff, just everyone we came in contact with -- all helpful, professional, and nice. Our room had a beautiful view of the pool and river: lovely. The shuttle bus to the train gave us lots of options for sightseeing--very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

They lost my reservation, and I had to wait 10-15 minutes while they figured it out. It was their mistake, but they would not provide me a better (river view) room to make up for the inconvenience. Said they were "sold out" , despite only 20 cars in the lot. This with a hotel of over 100 rooms.

The decor is nice. The restaurant service is passable, not great. I found the food good, if overpriced. You are pretty much stuck with their restaurant if you don't want to drive to dinner.

I just figure that a small gesture of service is appropriate when one is inconvenienced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your recent stay with us, I apologize for the confusion with your reservation, We do make mistakes at times and our staff does everything possable to correct those mistakes when they occur, I'm happy that the staff was able to correct the reservation confusion and unfortunately the upgrade you requested for the mistake was not available, Please accept my apology and let me know if I can be of any further assistance.
Rod Russell
Director of operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach

Address: 909 N. Hayden Island Drive, Portland, OR 97217 (Formerly Doubletree)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Portland
#31 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Portland, Oregon. Located on the Columbia River, directly across the border from Washington State, Red Lion Hotel on the River is a prime location for the vacation, leisure, business and conference traveler. Tennis courts, pool, hot tub, fitness center and 320 guest rooms with pillow top mattresses, triple sheeting and down duvets as well as refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, irons/ironing boards create the home away from home you want while you are on the road. Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach is conveniently located on the scenic Columbia River, just minutes from downtown Portland and 15 minutes from the Portland International Airport. We do provide complimentary transportation with-in a 4 mile radius. Our easily accessible and central location is close to all Portland attractions, major businesses and the spectacular Columbia River Gorge. The Jantzen Beach shopping complex is less than a half-mile away.Our 320 guest rooms, including 24 suites, feature private balconies, some with river, pool and tennis court views. All rooms offer free wi-fi, 32" LCD televisions featuring 60 channels including HBO, major movie, news, sports and special interest programming. In every room you will find refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, in-room safes and bed side desk phones. Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill offers a wide variety of all the northwest has to offer serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Let your hair down on Friday and Saturday nights in JB's Night Club & Lounge where you can dance the night away to a variety of current music and take in the spectacular view of the Columbia River. Featuring Northwest beers and wines.If you enjoy the outdoors, boating, fishing, jet skiing, sailing and snow skiing are just a few of the activities you'll find nearby. Golf enthusiasts can choose from five championship golf courses within a short distance from the hotel. If shopping is your pleasure, enjoy tax-free shopping at Jantzen Beach shopping complex. If you need to be near the University of Portland, Portland State University or Concordia University, we're your hotel of choice, hosting teams, parents, graduation parties and meetings.Our iCare, iCan trained staff ensures your stay is comfortable and exceeds your expectations. For over 3 decades we have been making memories for our guests...we look forward to the opportunity to help make some for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.