We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fulton House Bed & Breakfast

Fulton House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fulton House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Fulton House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
7006 SW Virginia Avenue, Portland, OR 97219   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 Portland B&B and Inns
South Bristol, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrific B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed in the Garden Room for 3 nights. Comfortable bed and great bathroom en suite. Kerry who was in charge during our stay was enthusiastic, helpful and an excellent cook. A short drive from downtown made it a good location for our purposes. Only suggestion would be to offer an Oregon wine as the complementary wine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We spent two nights in the wonderful b&b. This Arts & Crafts style home is restored to impeccable condition. It is comfortable, not frilly. Located about a block from the bus line, you can be in town within 15 minutes. The Blue Heron room has a porch the full length of the house where you can relax and enjoy the cool breezes. Our innkeeper in training was Carrie and she made delicious breakfasts and cookies. She was very helpful and gave us great information. It was the perfect place to relax and a great home base to explore Portland.

Room Tip: It was in a quiet, residential neighborhood, so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This trip was actually in August 2011, but I'm just now getting around to writing a review of this fabulous place.

Traveling from the midwest via Amtrak, a friend and I started a trip around the northwest in Portland at the Fulton House. We met up with another friend who lives in the area, and we absolutely could not have been happier with our stay. The wine cellar suite was perfect for the 3 of us, whether we were coming home at 1 am from exploring the city, or staying in with (several bottles of) wine and Voodoo doughnuts. We had a car, but left it parked to use the extremely easy-to-catch buses and the free MAX service downtown. We also enjoyed walking to a nearby pub for dinner and strolling along the river (where we stumbled across a crew filming an episode of Grimm, which was surprising!). The neighborhood felt very safe and quintessentially Portland, which we absolutely loved.

Between the amazing breakfasts, entertaining stories from the temporary innkeeper (Wendy was traveling) and other guests, and the beauty of Portland itself, we were so sad when our time there came to an end. It was absolutely the best part of our trip, largely due to the Fulton House!

I have recommended the Fulton House to friends since our stay, and I sincerely hope to return in the near future!

Room Tip: Loved the wine cellar suite...was absolutely perfect for 3 people with a private entrance and tons o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband and I were visiting Portland to attend a friend's wedding. On her recommendation we stayed at the Fulton House B&B because of its convenient location and comfortable accommodations. Our room was very charming. It had a large balcony where we happily spent many relaxing hours during our four-day stay. Our host, Wendy was gracious, knowledgable and gave us excellent recommendations for local restaurants and day trips in the area. Her breakfasts were superb! We enjoyed walking in the beautiful neighborhood around us which included Willamette Park. We'll definitely stay at the Fulton House again on our next visit to Portland!

Room Tip: Room with the balcony was large and had excellent light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Very nice place. Splotlessly clean, and very quiet and comfortable. Fast and reliable internet. Wendy cooked amazing breakfasts every morning, and put out fresh-baked cookies every afternoon, as well as being extremely helpful about directions, restaurants and attractions. The B+B is very close to Wilammette Park and a few restaurants, though within walking distance of only 3 or 4. The only drawback (if you don't have a car) is that while there's a bus stop very nearby, the buses run on that route only once every half-hour until 6:30, and then only once an hour. But it's a very easy cab ride back to the B+B in the evenings, under $20 with tip, so it's not much of a drawback. (You have to call the cabs; you can't hail them in the street, but they show up within 2 minutes of calling. It's impressive.)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just wanted to write a review to give feedback to anyone who is interested in staying here. My husband and I celebrated our 13th anniversary by taking a last minute trip to Portland from Denver. We have been fortunate enough to travel a little throughout the states and have stayed at various hotels and bed and breakfasts. The inn had a last minute cancellation for the Labor Day weekend and fortunately we were able to stay at the Fulton House.

We stayed in the wine cellar room which offered great privacy and a lot of space. We had our own rec. room area, bedroom and bathroom. The room was very clean and comfortable. We really felt like we were in our own home. We were welcomed with a bottle of wine. Wendy, the innkeeper, provided bottled water, sodas and in the kitchen there was a buffet of snacks and warm drinks available all day. My favorite were the chocolate chip cookies which welcomed us the first night. I actually looked forward to returning to the inn to see what treats awaited us.

The other two rooms in the Inn were upstairs. The other visitors were very quiet and respectful. Each morning we were treated to a delicious hot breakfast that was different the three days we spent there. My husband does not eat gluten and dairy and Wendy kindly and knowledgeably accommodated his needs. Some examples of our breakfasts were waffles and sausage; a fantastic egg and potato soufflé with bacon; and croissant french toast. We also appreciated the quality of the food - no nitrates or artificial ingredients. Everything was fresh and wholesome.

The location is part of Portland but south of the other parts of the city. We were able to walk near the Williamette river and use public transportation efficiently. There were a few restaurants within walking distance and we did eat at Porcelli's - an Italian restaurant, which we enjoyed. Finally the neighborhood was very quiet - we slept with the window opened every night.

Overall this experience could not have been better. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you would like extra space we recommend the wine cellar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I visited Portland for the first time this July. The Fulton House B&B provided comfortable and convenient accommodation for our three-day stay. Our room was spacious and included a lovely covered veranda where we could read and relax. Wendy, our host, was very pleasant and obliging and her breakfasts were a highlight of each day. We highly recommend the Fulton House to anyone visiting Portland.

Room Tip: The Blue Heron Room has a north exposure (cooler in the summer) and a covered veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fulton House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7006 SW Virginia Avenue, Portland, OR 97219
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in southwest Portland, Fulton House is one block from Willamette Park and a few minutes to downtown. The inn is also close to the tram stop going to "Pill Hill" and the renown facilities of Oregon Health & Sciences Center. This late 19th century Cape Cod home features modern amenities: spacious guest rooms (some with private full baths), cable TVs, DVD and CD players, free telephone and WI-Fi. Your stay also includes a gourmet breakfast served each morning in our formal dining room. The main floor has a kitchen, fireplace, sun porch, and living room with hundreds of books. Relax with a glass of wine on the patio, soak in our luxurious hot tub, or simply sit by the koi pond and listen to the peaceful waterfall. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fulton House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.