We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Benson Hotel to your Saves list
Benson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was my favourite hotel on our 2 week journey along the west coast USA: we stayed in quite a few on the way, and The Benson was the best. We were there for 2 nights.

It’s wonderfully old-fashioned, posh but friendly, beautiful, clean, spacious, quiet - everything a hotel should be. Our room was very clean, with a huge comfortable bed (could happily sleep there all day), nicely presented. Lots of space for your luggage, good shower, good service, parking (paid) just underneath the hotel - everything you need for comfort and rest.

And, they serve the best cooked breakfast ever! The bacon is to die for. I really enjoyed it, and had it twice. Kept trying to get it in other places, but no one can replicate it. The service was fast and very good. The dining room is grand - with beautiful chandeliers, elegant furnishings, starched napkins and very polite waiters in bow ties. It makes you feel special, and it isn’t even hugely expensive.

I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a comfortable stay and a first-class full English (well, in this case, American) breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I am honored that we were your favorite hotel during your visit to the West Coast. Your compliments regarding our breakfast are appreciated, and I look forward to sharing them with The Palm Court staff. I hope your travels bring you back our way again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    383
    150
    65
    34
See reviews for
174
472
70
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed The Benson Hotel very much for our four night stay. The hotel was elegant, beautifully designed and well serviced by ample staff. We felt quite secure and all our requests were easily met. Access to TriMet transportation is excellent and there are some good neighborhood restaurants within short walking distances. We were very happy with our choice of lodging and had a relaxing and interesting Portland vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Benson Hotel during your vacation to Portland. I am glad that you were pleased with our ambiance and accommodations. It was our pleasure to serve you and we certainly appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Grand Old Hotel with amazing food in the heart of downtown Portland, OR. Amazing location. Piano bar. Wonderful food. If you're traveling to Portland for business or pleasure this is the place to stay. The staff has been there for years. It's always a pleasure to visit this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
At The Benson Hotel, we appreciate your loyal patronage. I am glad you would recommend staying with us for both business trips and leisurely vacations. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is over a hundred years old and the only way youd know it is the fabulous old lighting and such
It was bright clean and the staff were extremly friendly and helpful
The room service was fast and the food arrived hot and tasty
Other hotels in the area were 100.00 a night more so this hotel was even a great deal

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for providing a review. I am glad you enjoyed the quality and efficiency of our room service. Your comments will be shared with the rest of our team. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Benson Hotel on future trips to Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Everything is great for the Benson Hotel - the customer service, the great location, historic property. Only thing that holds the hotel back is something that has been commented on previously here on Trip Advisor. We were on the 9th floor and it sound like the traffic was right outside our window. Quite loud at night - time for some sound proof windows please!

Room Tip: Get a room on the highest floor you can - I cannot even fathom how loud it was down on the third or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your compliments regarding our location, friendly team and historic accommodations. I appreciate your comments and will utilize your feedback in future planning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

good location, near both the light rail and the streetcar---plenty of shopping nearby and good eats---great old place and the service was very good---there isn't a gift shop inside but the front desk can provide you with most items and there is certainly plenty of quick item stores around the area---my only complaint would be that the bed was too soft and the towels were pretty scratchy but would definitely stay there again when the need arises

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I apologize that you didn’t enjoy our Tempurpedic mattress. At The Benson Hotel we do have bed options from which to choose and we would be happy to provide you with a room that meets your preferences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Pretty much loved everything about our stay at the Benson in Portland. It really is a beautiful, historic hotel (but the rooms are very modern-fyi). the staff was great, in particular the bellmen and the concierge. My wife and I did a quick trip to celebrate our 21st anniversary and my bday. We caught a concert while there, and skipped the car and used the pretty awesome public transportation in Portland. The hotel is easy walking distance to everywhere you'd probably want to be-including the train to airport. Walk like four small blocks and for 10 bucks (round trip for 2) you can get to and from the airport with your luggage. I think the Benson hotel is a classy, affordable way to stay in Portland,a nd would highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: They do an upgrade deal if rooms are available at no extra charge-they did ours automatically but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing to celebrate both your birthday and anniversary with us! I am glad you found our central location convenient and that you were able to utilize Portland’s transportation system. We hope to become a tradition and welcome you back for future special occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.