We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Benson Hotel to your Saves list
Benson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have been staying at the Benson for several years now. We hit Portland maybe once a year and always stay at the Benson. The location is wonderful for the things we like to do--we love exploring the Pearl District. And, it's a good location for train travel from Seattle--one can walk from the station to the Benson. We love the old world charm of the hotel, especially the grand lobby--it's a wonder to behold. The staff is always welcoming and helpful. However, we have noticed over the years that the rooms definitely need better care and upkeep--some mold on the tiles in shower/tub surround, dings in and dust on the furniture. Not what one would expect from such a classy hotel. It is also close to one of our favorite restaurants--Andina in the Pearl; try it, you'll love it. We also ate breakfast at Mother's for the first time--also great! We took advantage of their "Legendary Experience" promotion so received free parking and $20 food voucher for the Palm Court, so it was a pretty good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    383
    150
    65
    34
See reviews for
174
473
70
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had not stayed at the Benson and were pleasantly surpised by the charm of the lobby and wine tasting going on around 5pm upon our arrival. For walking to local brew pubs or late night dining, we found the location perfect to experience Portland.

The first morning we had to try the infamous Voodoo Donuts which was a short walk away and worth the effort. The charm of the City of Roses is alive and well, both in things to do and eclectic architecture. Although it's not as "clean" as European cities, it's still worth a visit and walking around on foot.

The Benson was charming, but as other reviewers have stated, it's at best between a 3 and 4 star hotel. Although it's grand in communal areas, the rooms need to be freshened again and brought to the standards you would expect of this stately historical hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Benson. There for meetings, I felt as if the staff cared about my experience. The room was large, clean, and well looked nice. Comfortable bed. Quiet. Bathroom was a bit small, but quite serviceable. Breakfast in the Palm Court was a bit disorganized due to a large wedding party all coming in at once. Food was good, but a desert the evening before was below average. We did not eat at El Gaucho. The bell staff were always helpful, getting cabs, opening doors etc. Near Powell's books, Voodoo doughnuts and many restaurants. If staying in downtown Portland, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: High Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've seen claim that the Benson is a four-star hotel. Is it on the high side of three stars? Sure. Is it on par with four-star hotels in the area? Not any more. Four stars, in my opinion, does not forgive age. The Benson may have lovely skin, but the bones are in desperate need of some work to keep up the reputation.

I've stayed at both the Marriott and the Kimpton Vintage Plaza within two blocks of here. The rooms at the Benson are absolutely on par when it comes to comfort and amenities, and the lobby is easily a notch up in grandeur.

That said, I didn't get a great night's sleep across a three-night stay, as I have at those other venues. My room faced the interior space between buildings -- it didn't concern me there was no view, but the incessant squeaking of the kitchen's vent/chiller units did. Add the historic, but veneer-thin, doors -- and the inch-and-a-half gap under them -- and I could hear every sound and conversation from the hallway. Again, definitely not what expect for the rating, nor the price.

The staff were lovely, and the decor appropriately grand overall ... but for a supposed four-star hotel, I expected a quieter place to lay my head. (That said, the wonderfully comfortable beds help recover a better "sleep quality" rating.)

Side note: the underground parking garage the next block south on Broadway, under the Union Plaza tower, is the one with an underground entrance to The Benson -- very convenient when moving luggage back to the car at check-out. I paid only $11 for self-parking of less than 12 hours overnight on a Friday; your experience may vary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Benson is a lovely property in downtown Portland. The restoration retains all of the original charm and decor... beautifully ornate wood panelwork crowned with high vaulted ceilings and flowing mezzanine stairways take you back to a time when opulence was the order of the day. The rooms were typical of the period and nicely appointed with modern amenities, though not overly spacious. The bathrooms were small but functional, again, a feature of the period. Food a drink are topnotch and the staff could not be better. Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the compliments. We are pleased you found your stay with us enjoyable, and our team friendly and helpful. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Benson is a beautifully restored hotel with comfortable and updated rooms. The staff was great! We were able to occasionally hear some people talking in the hallway but other than that the rooms were very quiet. The hotel is conveniently located downtown which made it easy to walk to all the places we wanted to visit during our short stay. The bar and lobby were very nice.

Room Tip: Our room faced a brick building so there was no view. Recommend asking about other view choices if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your first trip to The Benson. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

You have to stay here. The Benson has perfected every detail of a relaxing, comfortable stay. I was in Portland on business, and after spending the night at the Benson, I was wishing for a long stay. The room was huge and the bedding was perfect. I loved the marble bathroom and the comfy robe.I also had dinner and breakfast in the hotel. Both meals were exceptionable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay. We are so pleased you were able to stay with us during your business trip. We look forward to sharing your compliments about our food and amenities with the rest of our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.