We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation in Portland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benson Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 12 more sites!
Benson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 132 hotels in Portland
East Hanover, New Jersey
2 reviews
“vacation in Portland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Beautiful hotel-very helpful staff. Enjoyed continental breakfast-lots of fruit, very bountiful. Service was very welcoming.Great location-easy to walk just about anywhere in Portland.Did not use room service or eat in restaurant attached to hotel. It was great to use Portland Perks program since breakfast&parking was included.We were 1 hr from gorge, 11/2 hrs from coast & very close to wineries so location was ideal.Room was good. Lighting in hotels always seems to be deficient but still tried to read while spouse slept.Also enjoyed complimentary newspaper in am, also wine on some special afternoon.Appreciated fresh flower on desk-it was so fresh I thought it was fake.Portland is nice but takes some getting used to people on street with begging&some just talking to themselves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    412
    295
    134
    54
    31
See reviews for
129
361
61
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I booked two rooms to take my elderly father to see Portland. I have never experienced such great service - every staff person we met was friendly and helpful. We booked through the Travel Portland site and were able to get free parking and continental breakfast for our stay. The rooms were lovely inside and clean. There are plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and it is easy to get on I-205 for day trips outside of the city. Would love to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great location - center of the city, close to downtown and Pearl District. The lobby of this hotel is very beautiful, great ambiance and great staff. Very helpful when I almost missed my airport shuttle. Thanks guys. Rooms were okay, nicely decorated but our view was of concrete. Portland is a beautiful city, would like to had a better view. Would have loved to spend more time listening to the jazz at the hotel. Also would have love to been to a wine tasting at the benson.

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I spent the night of July 23rd-24th at the Benson --Room 1233-- while on a business trip to Portland (Fantastic city, BTW). I left my $200 Sonicare Toothbrush on the shower. I flew back home and gave them a call the following morning (July 25th) to make arrangements for delivery. They said nothing was reported, nothing was found, nothing they could do. Nothing.

I told them I had a problem (-$200) but I believed they had a bigger one. They were totally non-responsive; no police, no investigation, no money back, no apologies. Nothing.

The Benson is redefining customer service and, more importantly, the meaning of house-keeping.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We conducted a thorough investigation of your claim when you reported your toothbrush missing after checked out. We are disappointed with your sentiments and insure each team member is held to the highest level of integrity. We extend our sincere apologies and hope you have since found your toothbrush.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We just wanted to be included in the high ratings for this hotel. Everything positive that was previously written by other visitors of the Benson is true. If we are ever in the area again, we will stay at the Benson.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Benson is a nicely redone historic hotel with a beautiful "vintage" lobby. The rooms were a decent size , nicely decorated and clean. Ask about your view when booking. The first room we were assigned had a view of a brick wall ( as did every room on that side of the hotel). We requested a different room and the staff was accommodating and moved us into a different room with an uninteresting street view (but an improvement from the original) . The location is good-not great. It seemed to me that this is the boundary of the Pearl District. Exiting the hotel and heading west will take you into the Pearl and all of the nice restaurants, Powells books, etc. If you cross broadway and head east, the neighborhood gets a little sketchy, particularly at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My favorite place to stay is The Benson. If very convenient to all the shopping and a short walk to the water front. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was great and clean, The restaurants in the hotel are very good also. The lobby is beautiful and very comfortable and I will always stay there when I come to Portland. The only little think that was an negative was the bathroom didn't have very good lighting. But the rooms are big and the beds are comfy.

Room Tip: The Mini Suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 132 hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Amex, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Benson Hotel to your Saves list