We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a visit....but no internet access in meeting rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benson Hotel

Save Saved
You added Benson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 132 Hotels in Portland
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a visit....but no internet access in meeting rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and fantastic downtown location. Beautiful rooms but wallpaper peeling in bathroom. Bathroom could use updating. Fine internet access in guest rooms. No internet in meeting rooms unless specifically purchased by hosting organization. For that reason I highly highly recommend the hotel for a visit but not for business. Lack of Internet access in meeting rooms made things too difficult. Internet access should be easy to access and available. Food in bar was terrific.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    347
    141
    58
    33
See reviews for
157
419
67
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

From stem to stern the staff was great and that does not happen often, nor do I write about it often. Check-in - good, valent -good. We had a great room but what made the stay memorable was Tom the Concierge. He was fantastic! Tom remembered guests and seemed to understand each one and give the advise that appealed to each one. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanville, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

A beautiful lobby. Well maintained building.

I will come again.

The staff was great and a waitress named Katherine was exceptional.
Umbrellas are available for the walking tripst to grate restaurants and other city sights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just loved Portland and The Benson.

From the valet parking to the porter to reception and conscierge everyone was so proud to be working at The Benson and rightly so.

Had that wonderful feel of a very well run historic family hotel with the focus on true customer service and satisfaction.

Delightful bedrooms and beds, could fault absolutely nothing.

Well done the management and entire team.

Room Tip: Just enjoy hotel and Portland - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis MD
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Benson is a beautiful hotel and we enjoyed our stay. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms clean and well appointed. The location of this hotel is very convenient as well. We had several meals in the bar area that were very nice. I would stay at the Benson again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Amazing service from start to finish. We book through a discount hotel site, and expected to be treated as such. How wrong we were! From our early check in ( we only wanted To store our bags ) to our check out, everything was first class. It didn't seem family friendly, but they were very accommodating to our 18 mos old. Modern but still vintage feel. Awesome location.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed at the Benson for a conference - May 20 - 24, 2013. The location is great - very close to the rail lines, and within short walking distance to many of the great neighborhoods, attractions and restaurants downtown. The room was very clean and spacious, the wifi worked well, the tv channels were fine. The amenities int he room were top-quality, better than I expected. The hotel has an old-world charm to it, and the staff was very helpful. The only issue I had was there is no real "restaurant" for breakfast, just the buffet/limited menu at breakfast in the lounge. The full buffet was $18, the continental was $15 (I think). The issue was the lounge tables you have your breakfast on where very small, so we (2 of us) had to re-arrange our coffee, etc. to make things work for breakfast. Otherwise, a great hotel, in a great location - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie C, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting The Benson Hotel during your recent stay in Portland. We are pleased to read you enjoyed our location and hotel! We appreciated your review and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 132 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.