We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to USA & Canada” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benson Hotel

Save Saved
You added Benson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 133 hotels in Portland
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Trip to USA & Canada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This Hotel is centrally located and very comfortable. The rooms are very good and the bed extremely comfortable. The service down on Ground floor restaurant when we arrived at 9.30pm was very slow and we had to follow up to get our meal. This Hotel is very good and the service from staff apart from the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your patronage and review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated your comments. We look forward to addressing them and seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    462
    340
    140
    58
    33
See reviews for
153
410
65
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We needed a weekend get away. I found the Benson through the the Portland Downtown Hotel site, but then went to their own site and found a deal that was actually better for us. I had booked a King Room. The first room they gave me was an King Suite, but the view wasn't great. The bellman promptly called the desk, and moved me to a regular HUGE king room, with an amazing view. No issues. I picked this over the others because they have Tempur Pedics!!
We had the Stay and Valet package, and ate Breakfast at the Palm Court. Then took a cab to where we needed to go.
ALL staff--the chef, valet staff, bell staff, housekeeping--all were very well trained, attentive and live to please. Great location.

I've stayed a a number of hotels in Portland. Pick this one. Skip the Marriott Waterfront.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAILUA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel 3 or 4 times, and I think it's probably my favorite hotel of anywhere. I love it. Rooms are nice, comfortable, clean, lobby is great. Nice breakfast buffet. And there are so many restaurants within a very short walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I usually stay in chain hotels, but for a few dollars more this was a delighful experience.
I had arrived prior to the usual 4pm check in time. The desk was flexible and said they would call me when a room was ready. The concierge relieved me of my bags so I could go to lunch. I stepped out to eat at Portlands iconic food carts. Soon the desk called with a room. The Benson is a great hub from which to explore Portland. Nice to be surrounded by elegance and an attentive staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I grew up in Portland, but never stayed at the Benson. Now, at age 65, I finally had the opportunity to stay there for the first time, and gladly took it! It was everything I had thought it would be for all those years. It is what a fine hotel should be. Elegant grace combined with a first rate staff, and you have the makings of a wonderful experience. The room was large, the bed, very comofrtable, and the small amenities, plentiful. Thank you, Benon, for a wonderful stay, and we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We booked The Benson for one night of our 3 day mini-honeymoon to Portland. The staff was very friendly and the concierge upgraded our room for free upon finding out we had just recently gotten married. The room was clean and spacious. The location was perfect and was within walking/transit distance to everything we wanted to check out. It would have been nice to stay another day but we had booked another hotel on the other side of the river (my new sister-in-law works for Marriott). Upon check-out they held our bags until we could check in at our next destination. A great experience overall.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly and efficient staff. The room was nice and the bed comfortable. A nice surprise in the bathroom was full size shampoo and conditioner to use. The bed had lots of pillows and a fluffy comforter. They also provided a wonderful road and slippers.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 133 hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.