We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Benson Hotel to your Saves list
Benson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very friendly and efficient staff. The room was nice and the bed comfortable. A nice surprise in the bathroom was full size shampoo and conditioner to use. The bed had lots of pillows and a fluffy comforter. They also provided a wonderful road and slippers.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    430
    168
    73
    36
See reviews for
207
530
77
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I am spending a weekend at the Benson. I usually prefer W-type hotels to grand dames, but I am staying here with a group of colleagues. The lobby is old world elegant and inviting at the same time. I requested a very quiet room, and in my tenth floor room overlooking a wall I can hear my heart beat. The bed is VERY comfortable. I would prefer brighter lighting in the room, but that is my only complaint. Powells and VooDoo donuts are close by.

Room Tip: I believe that the rooms with the best views (this is Portland and you won't see anything anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I live in Eugene and my daughter lives in Seattle, so we decided to meet in PDX to do some shopping and visit. The Benson is in a great location if you are interested in being downtown. Powell's Bookstore is a couple blocks away, as well as some great places to eat. The service at The Benson was top-notch. The room was clean and comfortable. Parking is a nuisance;there is a lot just south of the hotel that was reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This place was awesome. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Great place to stay. The hotel was within walking distance to everything one would like to seen in Portland. Great deal on breakfast and the food was as it should be. Delicious!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A beautiful older hotel with all of the grandeur that implies. Located in the heart of downtown, the service was very good and the room was very large and well-appointed. Free wi-fi was available. A good place for a business traveler. Valet parking was easy but expensive, and there is somewhat cheaper parking across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

What a great location and all round hotel for us and other guests in downtown Portland visiting for a wedding reception. From the time we walked into a relaxing lobby we all had a wonderful experience. The lobby at times were full of receptions and be a bit crowded. Several times they had free wine tasting in the lobby. We enjoyed the bar as well as the wonderful breakfast. The rooms are small but very elegant and comfortable. Would love to return and further explore downtown Portland!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our hotel and the wedding reception space. We’re glad you enjoyed the wine tasting and breakfast served in The Palm Court and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Weekender in Portland with group of girls. The Benson is located perfectly for great shopping, eating, and walking. And the service and decor made us feel like we had really splurged though the price of the room was extremely reasonable - about the same as the ones near the convention centre with much less ambience!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Benson Hotel. We’re pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciated your comments about our convenient location and service. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 133 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,563 reviews
Downtown
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#3 of 133 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Downtown
The Mark Spencer
The Mark Spencer
#21 of 133 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#12 of 133 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.