We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weeding weekend fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benson Hotel

Save Saved
You added Benson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Benson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 133 hotels in Portland
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Weeding weekend fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel was chosen for us from the bride and groom and we enjoyed the convenient location and the great views from the hotel. The food is delicious and the drinks are stiff, so you can't go wrong there! The hotel is very classic in decor, but I believe in does need a facelift in certain areas that are a bit dark and gloomy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    461
    338
    140
    58
    33
See reviews for
151
410
65
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Benson Hotel is a historic landmark hotel. It is a beautiful hotel (I have stayed here a few times over the years), it has been renovated over the years but the historic charm and features have been kept intact. The staff is very friendly, no complaints. The rooms are very clean, beds are comfortable, upgraded, towels don't feel like sandpaper, nice bathroom, amenities, etc....Was there for a meeting so did not get a chance to use the workout facilities but walked by, nice area with alot of equipment and weights.

Our meeting room was set up nicely, food was great, staff was attentive to our needs and were over accomodating which was nice.

This is a great place to stay in Portland, close to everything. El Gaucho restaurant is connected, the bar in the hotel is good as well.

Only thing, valet parking $31 - but you have in and out privlieges and they are fast. Parking at all hotels in PDX is expensive so this isn't any different.

Room Tip: They do have specials and good rates, check all the websites! Ask for a higher floor for quite and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, comfortable guestrooms and meeting space. We’re glad you enjoyed your business trip at The Benson Hotel and hope to see you in the future for another business or leisure visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I am an experienced traveler with a fairly broad experience both in the US and beyond. The Benson is simply a lovely property, it is centrally located, and the value for your dollar is excellent. First and foremost to be praised are the staff, and without exception. They are friendly without being intrusive and graciously helpful. As far as comfort and amenities are concerned, you will find nothing to complain about. Every need is anticipated. The food is delicious and the menu more varied than is typical. I particularly appreciated the Benson's Pet Friendly policy. I was so pleased to be comfortably lodged and with my dog. The Pet Friendly policy extends beyond simple tolerance of one's pet. Everyone treated my dog as though they were as happy to have her there as they were me! I shan't ever bother to stay anywhere else than the Benson when I visit Portland. In fact, my familiarity with this property has encouraged me to think more seriously about attending cultural events in Portland. I have been interested in the opera in Portland, but have stalled going because I hadn't identified a home away from home for those kinds of visits (I am new to Oregon). The Benson is it! Now, I'll go to Portland whenever the spirit moves me, confident in knowing I have a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Fantastic Hotel. Very old school charm. Lots of history and elegance in the building.

We were treated well and felt quite at home.

Location is great. Half a block from the Bailey's Tap Room and from Tugboat Brewery. Great places to in bide.

Room is a little small but well appointed. Beds are very comfortable.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and the cool night breeze into the room was very refreshing. We faced Broad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is beautiful from the outside, has an elegant and welcoming lobby, and rooms that are nearly as well presented as the rest of the establishment. Rooms are large, and bathroom of a perfectly standard size. Using tips from other travelers I requested a room on a higher floor, away from the elevator, and even though facing the main street, had a perfectly quiet and sound night's sleep. Beds are comfortable and large.

The valet are just the first you will encounter of a genuine, kind and helpful staff. Complimentary happy hour was a nice additional touch, and we noted the never empty bar had brought in a singer for live entertainment Friday night.

Location was excellent as everyone else notes. Parking across the street at $22 a night instead of $31 with the hotel is convenient and readily pointed out by the valet. We were appreciative of their honesty. We too would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We’re pleased to read you found your room spacious, comfortable and well ventilated! It’s our pleasure to provide superb service and we appreciated you noticing! Thank you again for the review. We’re looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Benson Hotel is by far the best historic and service focused hotel in Portland, OR. The staff and the attention to every detail is sure welcome in this fast paced travel oriented society. The location is perfect, the SPANISH COFFEE made by the bartender "Jonah" is the best in town, don't waste you time trying others. If you want a memorable experience and if you are lucky enough to find yourself in need of accommodations in downtown Portland... don't miss the Benson!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Mt Hood!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Benson Hotel! We’re pleased you found our location and historic property ideal. Thanks for your comments about Jonah and his Spanish coffee; we appreciated you noticing his hand-crafted drinks and look forward to sharing one with you again during a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First time in Portland and was pleasantly surprised when arrived. The hotel was very beautiful and had a warm inviting feel to it. The concierge staff was very helpful in helping us navigate what we wanted to see and do. Brunch was delicious, complimentary happy hour was very enjoyable in the beautiful lobby. Comfortable beds, great location. Would stay again when we come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 133 hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.