We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“triple check your bedding needs with this place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station to your Saves list
Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9920 NE Cascades Parkway, Portland, OR 97220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #37 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“triple check your bedding needs with this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Booked this room for 2 adults and 2 kids for my son's 8th birthday to spend a couple of days in Portland. We went online and let him choose and he wanted this place. We stay in Portland as often as once to twice a month so we have stayed almost everywhere. I contacted the hotel three days after I made this booking to make sure that the room had at least two beds and if my Step-Daughter wanted to stay possibly a roll-away bed too. I was told at that time they could give me an air mattress for the night for the 5th person. I called on my way into town to see if we could check in early and confirm that they had put us in a room that could handle the air mattress and was shocked to hear that they were over booked and put us in a room with one King bed. I explained in a panic that we had four people and could they please put us in another room. I was told in a somewhat snippy way that there wasn't anything they could do but they had a QUEEN size air mattress. I relented and accepted it since that would still give us a king and one queen then I could put my 8 year old in with my husband and I. I checked in later in the evening around 7pm and no air mattress was in the room I contacted the front desk and said that they hadn't brought it up and that I was very skeptical that we would be able to fit a queen size air mattress in this small of a room. They brought it up and when I unfolded it the mattress was a twin size. I called the desk again and at THAT time the clerk asks me "who told you it would be a queen size bed?" When I explained the issues from start to finish he said that the manager would call me back. i sent the rest of my family to use the pool while I tried to figure this out. It took her 25 minutes and me calling twice to get a call back from her. She told me her hotel was over sold and they didn't have another room to put me in that night. She could only offer two twin size air mattresses and she gave us coupons for free breakfast. The mattresses were flat by the time my kids woke up and we didn't use the breakfast as we weren't sure where it was and there was little direction as to where and how to go about it. The hotel itself is nice, the lobby is well laid out and there is a pool table for guests to use, a bar and an outdoor sitting area that is very nice. the rooms are clean and modern and you are very close to Buffalo Wild Wings and shopping. We like that area but I'm not sold on this place

Room Tip: Make sure you triple check your bedding needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal S, Manager at Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Good day, bekula38. Thanks again for staying with us. As discussed on the phone and with e-mails, we apologize that your reservation was not as you liked. Did you ask the front desk team where breakfast was? They would have been happy to help you with breakfast and your breakfast coupons.

If you would like to discuss your stay further please feel to reach out to me.

Sincerely,

Crystal Sincoff
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    246
    68
    30
    6
See reviews for
139
182
132
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed in Portland Afro the weekend and wanted a place close to the airport. The room is modern looking, to match the hotel. We swam in the pool, which was a bit cool. We had a drink at the bar and had great service there as well as at check in. The next morning after dropping my other half at the airport, I went back to enjoy more coffee and purchased some cereal in the food area that offers 24-hour service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal S, Manager at Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed our customer service talent team! We work with a great group of people. I have passed along your information about the pool to my maintenance team. It should be heated to 83 degrees year round.

We hope you get a chance to stay with us again when you are in Portland!

Sincerely,

Crystal Sincoff
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivetshall St. Mary, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Aloft hotel at PDX is a super airport hotel - very close to the airport in the midst of a small group of outlet malls, restaurants, and smaller shops. The hotel has all amenities and is very modern in its fit out. The bed was very comfortable and room warm. The shower was a pleasure and the products of a reasonable standard. There is an IHOP open 24 hours for breakfast and a great Famous Dave's Pit Barbeque restaurant across the street which was very good - absolutely full on a Wednesday night! We enjoyed the happy hour and had a very good stay overall. We think this is a good value stop.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal S, Manager at Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review Lamo001! We are so happy that you liked our hotel, its location, and our happy hour!

We hope that you get a chance to stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Crystal Sincoff
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We are regular visitors to Portland, Oregon, and chose this aloft property for one of our recent trips. It served our needs well and I am happy to give it a great review.

On this particular trip, we brought our dog along (his first time on a plane!). Check-in was helpful, relaxed and professional. We were placed in a room on the first floor and they quickly brought us some doggie amenities, including food & water dishes, a bed and various treats. Our room was comfortable and clean. I agree with the previous review regarding the odd design of the bathroom and the weird placement of the bench under the television, but figure that's what you get with a hotel that is going after a modern look and feel.

Location wise, we were very happy, as we were visiting family and they live close by. This may not be the place for you if you want to be near the main attractions and neighborhoods of Portland.

Internet access was free and speedy, with no connectivity issues.

Things we didn't like: the lack of a good quality breakfast option was noticeable. The other hotels lining the street offer free breakfasts that, while not gourmet, at least have the basics like cereal & toast. There is no free breakfast at aloft, and the for sale options weren't that exciting (think frozen egg sandwiches). The hotel is located across from a large shopping center and we just went to Starbucks each day for coffee and oatmeal.

Second, while we appreciated being on the ground floor and next to the exit so that it was easy to take our dog out, it was not possible to get back into the hotel through the same door. In other words, we were right next to one of the fire exits and used that essentially as our regular exit with the dog. But unlike other places that have a key card entry at the alternate exits on their property, there is no way back into the hotel unless you walk all the way around to the main entrance. Mildly inconvenient, but perhaps we shouldn't complain since walking even just a little bit is good exercise.

On our next trip, we will not hesitate to stay at aloft again if pricing and other factors align that way. However, we will not seek this property out as a "go to" spot for our frequent Portland trips.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal S, Manager at Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad your furry friend got to take advantage of trying out one of our ARF kits! For security purposes that fire door does lock behind you. I will pass along your comments to our maintenance/management team as having a key entry for that door. That's a great idea..

We hope that you get a chance to come back and see us.

Thanks so much for staying with us and have a beautiful day!

Sincerely,

Crystal Sincoff
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset nj & NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel is great looking and modern however there is a serious lack of comfort and privacy. The toilet and shower are located in a space that is closed off by a barn door on rollers, when closed there is a gap around the door you can stick you finger out from inside. The toilet is therefore not private at all. There are some things I really do not want to share, enough said! The other issue is that the only seating is a single office chair or the bed. There is a bench but it is not practical as it is located directly under the flat screen TV, this bench is only valuable for packages not seating. If you attempt to sit in the lobby it has the vibe of a bar which is loud, nice and fun if your looking for that scene but awful if your looking for a relaxing space outside your room. This hotel is fine if your by yourself. If your traveling with someone I would recommend the Hyatt Place next door where you get a couch, work station and most important of all privacy.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator, if your traveling with someone stay next door.
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is high on the list of environmentally savings hotels.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal S, Manager at Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review Frank! We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was. Your feedback is a valuable tool that helps us to be the best property that we can. Our vibe is unique from most properties as we try to provide sassy, savvy experience for our guests. Our room layout is designed to provide an open, modern, bright space, but that style may not be for everyone.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you have a beautiful day!

Sincerely,

Crystal Sincoff
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here while on a business trip in September. A nice hotel with a nice casual vibe, but Starwood service and feel. I would definitely recommend this if you need an overnight option, or need to stay the weekend a little farther away from downtown. Good walking distance to some eateries and a shopping center too.

There's also a free shuttle between a couple neighboring hotels and the airport too.

My only gripe is with the entire area, which I don't hold against the hotel. Why are there no gas stations literally within miles of the airport? The first person to set up a gas station in that area could easily end up the richest person in Portland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal S, Manager at Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review Desmond! I have often thought the same thing about the gas station. We really do wish there were closer options. It's good that we have restaurants and hopping options within walking distance, though. We are so happy you liked our hotel and enjoyed your visit. We hope you get a chance to come back again soon!

Sincerely,

Crystal Sincoff
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We chose the Sheraton Aloft for a quick weekend visit for a wedding. The hotel was excellent and the free parking was a big plus. Fortunately, nothing is very far away in Portland so getting around was easy. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions and ideas for restaurants.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal S, Manager at Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your review Amy! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the free overnight parking.

We hope that you get a chance to stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Crystal Sincoff
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station

Address: 9920 NE Cascades Parkway, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
#40 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the traveler open to possibilities, Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station is a fresh, fun, forward-thinking alternative. We're minutes from Portland International Airport, with easy light rail access to downtown's urban energy-plus the great outdoors at our doorstep! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Starwood, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Portland Airport At Cascade Station Hotel Portland
Aloft Cascade Station

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.