We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really liked The Nines” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland to your Saves list
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #11 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Really liked The Nines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I won't give it 5 starts but it was a fun, different hotel. The corner room we were in with great views was great. Beds are great. Staff was great. The cafe in the lobby was really great for breakfast. Highly recommend their breakfast. It's a very different hotel, young 20-30 year olds with what I'd describe as "funky decor". The location is perfect for downtown and the train from the airport stops right in front. It's a bit of a walk to the Pearl District but doable. We drove. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Ginny6312,

Thank you for choosing the Nines! We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and our team provided you with an exceptional service throughout. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    393
    142
    47
    33
See reviews for
201
555
90
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

A Starwood hotel missing a few beats. Room service brought breakfast in on tray leaving table outside. When I requested the table as we needed it to eat server complied and rolled it in and left me to lift table leafs. Also when we checked in (lobby on 8th floor) desk person handed us keys told us elevators were around the corner; use key card to access our room floor and sent us on our way.As bellman had taken our luggage when we came in we were left on our own to find our room and figure out which way the key worked - not what I would expect at this level of hotel. The two restaurants in the hotel were excellent and location great. Maybe it's a Portland thing but these missing steps are not acceptable at this level of a hotel.Furniture in room a bit worn.

Room Tip: 12th floor concierge level.
See more room tips
Green Features: Have recycle trash bins, half and full flush toilet, all very Portlandia ;-)
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Floridagal65,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay overall, however, please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you encountered. Please know that I have readdressed these items with the team and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you again in the future to redeem your current expectations.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We checked in here on the last night of our 10 day summer holiday. Admittedly we arrived too early so a wait was expected for our room. What we didn't expect was having to wait until 6:00pm to get our room. With two kiddos in tow this was nothing short of excruciating. They plied us with a food and bev credit which was kind but having to wait 3 hours past check in is really beyond my capacity for patience. The room itself was nice if not somewhat worn. The bathroom was a hot mess. Despite being huge, they afforded you only one corner sink that was set back about 8 inches from the counter so kiddos had a devil of a time washing up. The shower was the most dismal impotent excuse for a bathing tool that I have ever encountered. Imagine a trickle and then imagine it being barely tepid. This was the shower experience. To add insult it was one of those bath shower combos with a curtain that insisted on encroaching on your already tormented, tepid, water pressure deprived self.
The hubs and I made a trip up to the rooftop bar which does have spectacular views. The drinks list was lackluster though and the bartender clearly wasn't a generous pourer.
Here's the good news to offset a bit of the grousing...the club lounge and lobby area are superb (we had sufficient exposure to both while waiting for the room to be ready). Josie was a gracious and affable host and tried her darnedest to mitigate our collective feelings of frustration. The Urban Farmer restaurant on the 8th floor had excellent breakfast offerings at non extortionate prices.
All things considered I suppose our stay was good enough but I would expect better from a hotel billing themselves as a luxury destination.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Antamy,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize that we fell short of your expectations during this visit and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you again in the future to regain your confidence. The lack of service you received is unacceptable and it is not our standard at the Nines. I would like to extend my services to you if you would like to discuss further or if you choose to return in the future.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Our reservation was somehow lost in the SPG system so the check in agent flagged down Steve, a managerial level person. Steve resolved the issue and made us feel very welcome.

Our room was nicely furnished, very clean and with a good view. The club amenities are great as well.

Not much away from perfection.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear porscheturbo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your feedback. We truly appreciate your kind words in regards to our service and commending our team. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you again in the future for another exceptional experience- and this time, we are shooting for PERFECT!

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed two nights at The Nines. The location is very centrally located to great restaurants, sightseeing and shopping. Everyone at the hotel was very professional, pleasant and eager to assist. Our room was on the 14th floor with a king bed, a small separate area with a nice size desk, average size bathroom with shower (no bath). The decor is as described by other travelers, chic, cool and comfortable. We loved our room and thought it was nicely appointed with plenty of space. Everyone from the bell hops, the front desk to the concierge service were all exceptional. A special shoutout to Laurie for her assistance with planning meals while in Portland as well as recommendations in Cannon Beach and wine tasting in Willamette Valley. We would definitely stay here again when in the Portland area.

Room Tip: We had read and agree that the rooms along the perimeter are more quiet than those overlooking the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear ruler61,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. You are always welcome to join us and we are looking forward to seeing you again. Please accept my apologies for the lack of a bathtub in the room. We would be pleased to note a bathtub as a preference for future stays and will be sure to make your future trips just as fun.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed at this property in May of this year. The rooms are beautiful, clean and spacious and the location is perfect - right next to Pioneer Square. We were able to walk just about anywhere. From the moment we checked in, the staff was helpful, courteous and kind. Quincy from the front desk went out of his way to make us feel welcome and get our plans together for the day. He checked in on us periodically and was the consummate hospitality professional. Don't miss breakfast at the superb farm to table restaurant at the hotel. The bar off the lobby is a great place to unwind and has a great selection of whiskys! All in all, a wonderful hotel in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Note - The club at the top of the hotel and the hotel bar get a bit busy (noisy) on weekends, so try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your acknowledgement of Quincy’s personalized service and it will be my pleasure to share your compliments with him. Please let me know if I may assist in the future.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My stay at the Nines was pretty good. Cannot complain much about it but it is not a 5* hotel for sure.

CHECK-IN
It was fast, and very easy. Got upgrade to the corner room on the 14th floor with a pretty nice view due to Platinum status.

ROOM
The room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. Wish I asked them where they got the mattresses from. Really like the bedding and had a very good night of sleep. The bathroom has no fan tho, It could be a problem.

CLUB LOUNGE
It is a small one! Real small. Its like 2 standard rooms size so don't expect too much. And don't expect to have a full lunch and dinner there like other hotels, they only have a few food options. One good thing I like about it is they do offer drinks all day long, so take advantage of that!

DINNING
Went up to the 15th floor a few times. The drinks were a bit expensive for portland and wasn't that special. The security guy was a bit scary when I just walked in without showing him my passport.

My stay was overall enjoyable, EXCEPT when we were trying to drop our bags off a few days before our arrival. We kindly asked the doorman to tell the other staff to park the car a bit better so we would have space to park too. Guess what, he said, "Wait a minute!" Hmmm, why can't you just do your job and let us (customers) to park the car!!! We were trying to catch the train and almost missed it because the lazy doorman did not want to walk a few steps to tell the other staff to move the car a bit forward.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Sherman0714,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, however, I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered while parking the car. I assure you this is not acceptable behavior displayed by our team and please know that I will address it with them accordingly. We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. As for the mattresses and where to get one- they are custom made for the the Starwood Luxury brand.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Address: 525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portland
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#9 Family Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown luxury hotel, The Nines, Portland hotel offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. Located next to Pioneer Square, we're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.