We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Staff Made the Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland to your Saves list
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #11 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Club Staff Made the Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I spent the weekend at the Nines and have been several times before. It's always a great place to stay- the beds are amazing and the rooms are gorgeous. Even if you aren't staying, the Departures bar on the roof is one of the best places to spend a portland summer evening. On this stay, my highlight at the Nines had to be the incredibly helpful and knowledgeable staff in the Club lounge- especially Josie, Judy and Peter. Thanks for a great visit... The only reason I can't give the Nines a full 5 star luxury review is that most of the rooms don't have bathtubs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Stephanie Z,

I appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience and for commending our team. It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with Josie, Judi and Peter. I do lend my condolences for the inconvenience you encountered with the lack of a tub in the room. We do have a variety of room types and sizes and bathtubs are available upon request. Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future if I may be of assistance in reserving the room most appropriate to your needs. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    393
    142
    47
    33
See reviews for
203
557
91
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Went home to Portland for a wedding. Decided to stay at The Nines and so happy I did!
Being in the hospitality industry I have a tendency to critique everything at a hotel. I was able to actually enjoy and relax during this trip.
Upon arrival the hotel is appropriately staffed with a valet and concierge service. The hotel is beautifully appointed.
There is a roof top bar that overlooks the city and an open air restaurant that is a "farm to fork" style of menu.
For a fee you can enjoy a lounge during your stay that offers complimentary appetizers and drinks in the evening and desserts later at night which were very good. In the morning the lounge offers hot tea, coffee, water, and pastries.
One morning we had to leave early and it was so convenient to see a coffee carafe on our floor that we could partake so we didn't have to search for coffee on the way to our destination.
In the evening turndown service comes with chocolates and complimentary slippers.
The location of this hotel is in an excellent spot perfect for walking and exploring the beautiful city.

Room Tip: Corner rooms give a prettier view of the city. Especially at night.
See more room tips
Green Features: Portland is a pretty environmentally conscious area, but this hotel was sure to do it's part.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear jgirlpdx,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the comforts of your guest room and the service you were provided. I hope you will choose the Nines on your next visit to Portland. It would be our pleasure to welcome you, no matter what the occasion.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Took my mother for an overnighter, the digs are really nice but the amenities are rather expensive. The provided fridge items are unjustifiably spendy $3 gatorade small? Please. $40-$50 entrees on the menu? Well this is a good place to spoil yourself and be within walking distance of practically everything. Really nice, helpful, polite people. Be sure to ask for a room facing outside for stays on weekends or party days, the bar in the atrium gets loud at those times. Very comfortable.

Room Tip: As above ask for a outward facing room on party days i.e. Friday, Sat, celebratory holidays.
See more room tips
Green Features: Never saw any except the recycle bin under the desk labeled "recycle"
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Richard B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your experience overall, however, I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you by the higher prices that come along with summertime in Portland. We hope to welcome you again in the future in season that may be more fiscally friendly. I am at your service if I may assist in the future.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at the Nines to celebrate his birthday weekend, and had our in-laws in from another state join us. My goal was to easily plan three great dinners, without having to do a ton of research myself. The concierges Laurie and Josie were fantastic. Not only did they help me narrow down cuisines and choices over the phone, but they accommodated changes, and added special treats along the way to help us celebrate. We looked forward to our dinners every night and can't wait to stay at the Nines again! Thank you for a great weekend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear mhenrysea,

Thank you for choosing the Nines. We are honored that you chose to stay with us for a birthday celebration and we appreciate your acknowledgement of the exceptional services that Laurie and Josie provided. It will be a pleasure to share your review with them as we know that they both truly take pride in providing service that is beyond expectation. Please visit us again in the future.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here for two nights, leisure travel. Enjoyed the décor although it does feel a little overdone on the "cool" at times, staff was wonderfully helpful and friendly. Loved the restaurant. I had a great room, not super small as some others have noted. I would certainly stay here again. Great location as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear JLR819,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed the Nines overall and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here for one night during a two week Oregon vacation. The staff was very helpful and friendly the few times we interacted with them. The room were decent size with a luxury feel to the beds and bathroom. The location was fabulous for the sightseeing we wanted to do. It was within walking distance to Powell's, the food carts, Voodoo donuts and right across the street from Pioneer Square. We didn't eat at the restaurants as there are many great restaurants near by. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Robert L,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience and for recommending our property. We invite you to explore our restaurants during your next trip to Portland and we promise that you will not regret it. After all, they are two of Portland’s very best. Don’t miss the eggs benedict at Urban Farmer’s breakfast and the delightful calamari served in the Departure Restaurant and Lounge. The view atop the 15th floor is in itself a 5 star experience. Hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Take a basic Sheraton hotel, put a veneer of 'cool' decor and that's what you have with The Nines. It wasn't bad, but there's nothing special about it either. We stayed here for four nights and interacted with the hotel staff one time only; during check in. Aside from that there was no greeting by the doormen, or any other hotel staff. It is not that we were looking to be fawned over, but other services were also inconsistent. We received a newspaper on the first day and never another one. One evening, our turndown service closed the blinds, turned on the lights and set the TV on the music channel. Aside from that one time, the turn down service was minimal.

The hotel also promoted its environmental awareness by lowering water usage which I'm all for. Except that the faucet at the sink was so low flow that it took a while to wash the face or hands. Thankfully, the shower wasn't too bad. They also locked in the shampoo and shower gel bottles (to prevent guests from taking it?) and it was actually hard to use them when they're held in a metal frame that is locked into the shower wall. It is the small touches that separate a true luxury hotel from a run of the hill hotel and The Nines fails on all accounts.

If this hotel was promoted as a regular Hilton or a Sheraton and priced accordingly, I would be absolutely fine with it as expectations would be set accordingly. In fact, I would have been thrilled. Great location in the center of town, with a decent room and bed. But when it is being branded as a luxury boutique type of hotel, it fails to live up to expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Beckett,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I appreciate your perspective and would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further at your convenience. Brilliant execution of service is what defines outstanding hotel experiences and we are so disappointed we did not meet and exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Address: 525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portland
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown luxury hotel, The Nines, Portland hotel offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. Located next to Pioneer Square, we're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.